tracks musicians credits related releases

Groovies' Greatest Grooves

The Flamin' Groovies

Initial release : 1989

Sire 25948

A compilation of tracks primarily taken from the three albums recorded for the Sire label in the mid 1970's.

Buy from

album cover


  • Shake Some Action (Jordan/Wilson)
  • Teenage Head (Jordan/Loney)
  • Slow Death (Jordan/Loney)
  • Tallahassee Lassie (Crewe/Picariello/Slay)
  • Yeah My Baby (Edmunds/Jordan/Wilson)
  • Yes, It's True (Jordan/Wilson)
  • First Plane Home (Jordan/Wilson)
  • In the U.S.A. (Jordan/Wilson)
  • Between the Lines (Jordan/Wilson)
  • Don't You Lie to Me (Berry/Whittaker/Whittaker)
  • You Tore Me Down (Jordan/Wilson)
  • I'll Cry Alone (Jordan/Wilson)
  • Please Please Girl (Jordan/Wilson)
  • Down, Down, Down (Burton)
  • Yes I Am (Jordan/Wilson)
  • Teenage Confidential (Jordan/Wilson)
  • I Can't Hide (Jordan/Wilson)
  • Absolutely Sweet Marie (Dylan)
  • Don't Put Me On (Jordan/Wilson)
  • I Saw Her (Hunter/Jordan/Willhelm)
  • All I Wanted (Jordan/Wilson)
  • Jumpin' in the Night (Jordan/Wilson)
  • There's a Place (Lennon/McCartney)
  • River Deep-Mountain High (Barry/Greenwich/Spector)

Musicians include;

  • Cyril Jordan - guitar, vocals
  • George Alexander - bass
  • Mike Wilhelm - guitar
  • Chris Wilson - guitar, vocals
  • David Wright - drums
  • Dave Edmunds - guitar
  • James Farrell - guitar
  • Roy Loney - vocals (one track only)
  • Tim Lynch - guitar (one track only)
  • Danny Mihm - drums (one track only)

  • Original producers - Dave Edmunds, Roger Bechirian, Cyril Jordan, Richard Robinson
  • Cover art - Cyril Jordan
  • Liner notes - Michael Goldberg, Michael Snyder
Related releases

The tracks on this compilation are primarily taken from the three albums on the Sire label;