tracks musicians credits related releases

The Rhythm Devils Play River Music

The Rhythm Devils

Initial release : 1980

Passport PB-9844

Mickey Hart, Bill Kreutzmann and Phil Lesh contribute to this original LP release of percussion music from the recording sessions from the Apocalypse Now soundtrack.

Buy the extended CD version
of this LP from

LP Side 1

  • Compound (Hart/Hinton/Moreira)
  • Trenches (Hart/Hinton/Moreira)
  • Street Gang (Hart/Hinton/Moreira)
  • The Beast (Hart/Hinton/Moreira)
LP Side 2
  • Steps (Hart/Hinton/Moreira)
  • Tar (Hart/Hinton/Moreira)
  • Lance (Hart/Hinton/Moreira)
  • Cave (Hart/Hinton/Moreira)
  • Napalm for Breakfast (Hart/Hinton/Moreira)
  • Hell's Bells (Hart/Hinton/Moreira)

The Rhythm Devils

  • Greg Errico
  • Mickey Hart
  • Michael Hinton
  • Bill Kreutzmann
  • Phil Lesh
  • Jim Loveless
  • Airto Moreira
  • Jordan Amarantha
  • Flora Purim
Compound is included on the Mickey Hart compilation Over The Edge And Back. The CD booklet with that release includes the following musician list;
  • Mickey Hart - percussion
  • Bill Kreutzmann - percussion
  • Airto Moreira - percussion
  • Michael Hinton - percussion
  • Jim Loveless - marimba
  • Greg Errico - drums
  • Jordan Amarantha - congas
  • Flora Purim - vocals
  • Phil Lesh - bass

  • Producer - Mickey Hart
  • Associate producer - Gian-Carlo Coppola
  • Production assistance - Creek Hart
  • Composed by - Mickey Hart, Michael Hinton, Airto Moreira
  • Engineer - Betty Cantor-Jackson, Brett Cohen, Dan Healy
  • Assistant Engineer - John Cutler, Bob Matthews
  • Instrument design - Jim Loveless, Ramrod, Willy John Cashman, Danny Orlando
  • Crew - Ramrod, Hagen, Steve Parrish, Billy Candelario, Bob Nichols, Willy Legate, Debbie Eisenberg, David Faust
  • Special thanks to Francis Coppola for his inspiration
  • Recorded at Club Front, San Rafael, April 1979 and The Barn, Novato, March 1980
Related releases

An expanded version of this LP was subsequently released on CD as;

The Apocalypse Now movie has been released twice. Firstly in it's original format then in an extended and remastered format; A soundtrack album was released in conjunction with each version of the movie; Compound has been included on a number of samplers and compilation;