tracks musicians credits related releases

Apocalypse Now Redux Soundtrack

Various Artists

Initial release : 2001


Mickey Hart, Bill Kreutzmann as part of the Rhythm Devils contribute some music to this soundtrack CD released in conjunction with the release of the remastered and extended version of the Apocalypse Now movie. Two tracks are co-written by Mickey Hart, Carmine Coppola and Francis Ford Coppola.

Buy from

album cover


  • Opening: The End (Doors)
  • Delta (Coppola / Coppola)
  • Dossier (Coppola / Coppola)
  • Orange Light (Coppola / Coppola)
  • Ride of the Valkyries (Wagner)
  • Suzie Q (Hawkins / Lewis / Broadwater)
  • Nung River (Coppola / Coppola / Hart)
  • Do Lung (Coppola / Coppola / Hansen)
  • Letters From Home (Coppola / Coppola)
  • Clean's Death (Coppola / Coppola / Hart)
  • Clean's Funeral (Coppola / Coppola) *
  • Love Theme (Coppola / Coppola) *
  • Chief's Death (Coppola / Coppola)
  • Voyage (Coppola / Coppola)
  • Chef's Head (Coppola / Coppola)
  • Kurtz Chorale (Coppola / Coppola)
  • Finale (Coppola / Coppola)
* additional music composed for the expanded movie.


Music realised by;

  • Master synthesist - Patrick Gleeson
  • Synthesists - Richard Beggs, Bernard L. Krause (assisted by Andy Narrell), Ed Goldfarb (tracks 11 and 12), Don Preston, Shirley Walker, Nyle Steiner (EVI soloist)
  • Guitar - Randy Hansen
  • Flute - Carmine Coppola (track 3)
  • Percussion based score - Mickey Hart
  • Percussion recording production assistance - Airto Moreira, Michael Hinton, Gian-Carlo Coppola
  • Percussion performers - Mickey Hart, Jordan Amarantha, Greg Errico, Zakir Hussain, Bill Kreutzmann, Phil Lesh, Jim Loveless
  • Special thanks - Flora Purim
  • Choir conductor - Carmine Coppola
  • Choir contractor - Ron Hicklin
  • Gospel singers - Henrietta Davis, Sheila Ellis, Jeannie Tracy
  • Singers contractor - Doug Kibble
Additional music;
  • The End - The Doors
  • Ride of the Valkyries - Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Sir George Solti
  • Suzie Q - Flash Cadillac

  • Music for the film produced by David Rubinson
  • Music for the CD produced by Richard Beggs
  • Recording engineers - Leslie Ann Jones, Bill Steele, Ken Kessie, Richard Beggs, Katherine Morton, Jim Austin, Shelley Higgins, Steve Mantoani, Stacy Baird, Emil Flock, Dan Healy, Bob Matthews, Brett Cohen, Betty Cantor-Jackson, Phil Yeend, Charles Garsha
  • Mixing engineer - Richard Beggs
  • Mastering engineer - Paul Stubblebine
  • Additional mastering - Shirley Walker
  • Technical source work for previously unreleased tracks - Pete Horner
  • Music production coordination - Teresa Zaleska
  • Music copyists - Chris Poehler, George Annis
  • Music recorded at The Automatt, San Francisco; American Zeotrope Studios, San Francisco; Different Fur Music, San Francisco; Club Front, San Rafael
  • Additional recording at CBS Studio Center, Los Angeles
  • Mixed at American Zeotrope Studios, San Francisco
  • Liner notes - Francisc Ford Coppola
  • Design - 27.12 design ltd, NYC
  • Album cover painting - Bob Peak
  • Still photography - Josh Weiner, Chas Gerretsen
  • Very special thanks to - Kim Aubry, Francis Ford Coppola, Mark Gill, Randy Spendlove, Tom Sternberg, Bob Weinstein, Harvey Weinstein
Related releases

This soundtrack album was released in conjunction with the extended and remastered movie;

The original Apocalypse Now movie was released in 1979. A soundtrack album was also released at that time; The music recorded by Mickey Hart and other percussion players (the Rhythm Devils), part of which appears in the movie, has been released on two albums;