tracks musicians credits related releases

Shake Sugaree

Elizabeth Cotten

Initial release : 2004

Smithsonian Folkways

A collection of tracks recorded in 1965 and 1966 including 10 previously unreleased recordings. This is an expanded CD release of an LP that was released in 1966.


  • Shake Sugaree
  • Take Me Back to Baltimore
  • Washington Blues
  • I'm Going Away
  • Fox Chase
  • Ontario Blues
  • Fare You Well, My Darling
  • Untitled / George Buck
  • Mama, Nobody's Here but the Baby
  • Mama, Nobody's Here but the Baby
  • Look and Live, My Brother
  • Jesus Lifted Me and Brenda Evans
  • Jesus Is Tenderly Calling
  • Buck Dance
  • Ruben
  • Oh, Miss Lulie Gal
  • Can't Get a Letter from Down the Road
  • Shoot That Buffalo
  • Boatman Dance
  • Hallelujah, It Is Done
  • Holy Ghost, Unchain My Name
  • Little Brown Jug
  • Delia
  • Ball the Jack
  • Till We Meet Again
  • When the Train Comes Along

  • Elizabeth Cotten - guitar, vocals

  • Producer, recording, editing - Mike Seeger
  • Sound supervision, mastering - Pete Reiniger
  • Design - Sonya Cohen Cramer
  • Liner Notes - Mike Seeger, John Ullman
  • Cover and back photos - John Cohen
  • Other photos - David Gahr, Mark and Sue Sandson
  • Recorded in Princeton, New Jersey in February 1965 and Roosevelt, New Jersey in January 1966
Related releases

16 of the tracks on this CD release were originally released on the LP;

Buy from

album cover