tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Norma Waterson

Norma Waterson

Initial release : 1996

Hannibal 1393

Includes a version of the Garcia/Hunter song Black Muddy River.

Buy from

album cover


  • Black Muddy River (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • St. Swithin's Day (Billy Bragg)
  • God Loves A Drunk (Richard Thompson)
  • The Birds Will Still Be Singing (Declan McManus)
  • There Ain't No Sweet Man That's Worth The Salt Of My Tears (Fred Fisher)
  • Rags And Old Iron (O. Brown Jr / N. Curtis)
  • Pleasure And Pain (Ben Harper)
  • Hard Times Heart (Norma Waterson)
  • There Is A Fountain In Christ's Blood (Traditional arr. Norma Waterson)
  • Anna Dixie (Lal Waterson)
  • Outside The Wall (John B. Spencer / Graeme Taylor)

  • Norma Waterson - vocals
  • Eliza Carthy - violin, vocals
  • Martin Carthy - guitar, vocals
  • Richard Thompson - guitar, vocals
  • Danny Thompson - bass
  • Roger Swallow - drums, percussion
  • Benmont Tench - organ (track 2 only)

  • Producer - John Chelew
  • Recorded and mixed by Larry Hirsch at Ocean Way Studio 2, Los Angeles, December 5-9, 1995
  • Associate producer - Larry Hirsch
  • Production Consultant - Joe Boyd
  • Mastered by Tim Young at Metropolis Mastering, London
  • Sleeve design - Matthew Rudd
  • Photography - Greg Allen
  • Cover photography - Paul Slattery
  • Recorded at Ocean Way Studio 2, Los Angeles, California on December 5-9, 1995

The CD booklet includes the lyrics for Black Muddy River.

Related releases

Black Muddy River was included on;

This was Norma Waterson's first solo album, more than thirty years after her first recorded appearance with the Watersons in the mid-1960s. A number of Watersons albums have been reissued in the 1990s.