tracks musicians credits related releases

Gypsy Cowboy

New Riders Of The Purple Sage

Initial release : 1972

Columbia KC-31930

The third NRPS album. Donna Jean Godchaux sings on two tracks.

Buy as part of a 2-on-1
release from

album cover


  • Gypsy Cowboy (Torbert)
  • Whiskey (Dawson)
  • Groupie (Torbert)
  • Sutter's Mill (Dawson)
  • Death and Destruction (Dawson)
  • Linda (Dawson)
  • On My Way Back Home (Torbert)
  • Superman (Dawson)
  • She's No Angel (Ballman/Arnold)
  • Long Black Veil (Wilkin/Dill)
  • Sailin' (Dawson)

New Riders;

  • John Dawson - rhythm guitar, vocals
  • David Nelson - bagpipes, dobro, lead guitar, mandolin, vocals
  • Dave Torbert - bass, acoustic guitar, vocals
  • Buddy Cage - pedal steel guitar
  • Spencer Dryden - percussion, drums
  • Darlene Didomenico - vocals (Whiskey, Superman and On My Way Back Home)
  • Donna Godchaux - vocals (She's No Angel and Long Black Veil)
  • Richard Greene - violin
  • Mark Naftalin - piano
  • Jack Schroer - horn

  • Producer - Steve Barncard, NRPS
  • Engineer - Steve Barncard, Dave Brown, Ellen Burke
  • Pendleton Stamina Company - John P. Hagen, Gary Harover, Robby Cook
  • Shotgun - Dale Franklin
  • Photography - Thomas Weir
  • Reprographics - CLE
  • Special thanks to Matthew Kelly
Related releases

One single was released in conjunction with this LP;

  • Groupie / She's No Angel, New Riders of the Purple Sage, February 1973
She's No Angel, Gypsy Cowboy, Sutter's Mill and Sailin' were included on; Long Black Veil was included on; The Gypsy Cowboy LP was re-released in Europe as part of a two-on-one CD; All the tracks from Gypsy Cowboy were included on the 5 CD box set;