tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Grateful Dead From The Mars Hotel

Grateful Dead

Initial release : June 27, 1974

Grateful Dead Records GD-102

The second Grateful Dead release on their own label.


  • U.S. Blues (Hunter/Garcia)
  • China Doll (Hunter/Garcia)
  • Unbroken Chain (Lesh/Peterson)
  • Loose Lucy (Hunter/Garcia)
  • Scarlet Begonias (Hunter/Garcia)
  • Pride Of Cucamonga (Lesh/Peterson)
  • Money Money (Weir/Barlow)
  • Ship Of Fools (Hunter/Garcia)
Bonus tracks on CD version released in the Beyond Description box set in 2004 and as a separate CD in 2006;
  • Loose Lucy (Hunter / Garcia) - Studio outtake, 8/7/73
  • Scarlet Begonias (Hunter / Garcia) - Live, Winterland, 10/16/74
  • Money Money (Weir / Barlow) - Live, Vancouver, 5/17/74
  • Wave That Flag (Hunter / Garcia) - Live, Springfield, 3/28/73
  • Let It Rock (Berry) - Live, Miami, 6/23/74
  • Pride Of Cucamonga (Lesh / Petersen) - Studio acoustic demo, 8/4/73
  • Unbroken Chain (Lesh / Petersen) - Studio acoustic demo, 8/11/73

  • Jerry Garcia - lead guitar, vocals
  • Bob Weir - guitar, vocals
  • Phil Lesh - bass, vocals
  • Keith Godchaux - keyboards
  • Donna Jean Godchaux - vocals
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Ned Lagin - synthesizer (on Unbroken Chain)
  • John McFee - pedal steel (on Pride Of Cucamonga)

  • Producer - Grateful Dead
  • Engineer (and special thanks to) - Roy Segal
  • Cover Art by: Kelly-Mouse
  • Recorded at CBS Studios, San Francisco, CA, 3/30/74 - 4/19/74

Mars Hotel was a building near to the studios where the album was recorded.

The Grateful Dead Movie includes film of the hotel being demolished.

The album cover displays another example of strange lettering on Dead album covers. The lettering on the front cover upside down and mirrored reads Ugly Rumours. This phrase has become an alternative title used by fans for the album.

Related releases

One single was released in conjunction with this LP;

A promo single of U. S. Blues was also distributed;; From The Mars Hotel was repackaged together with Wake Of The Flood as a double LP; Audiophile pressing released on LP in 1980 by Mobile Fidelity (MFSL-1-172) and on CD in 1985 by Mobile Fidelity (MFCD 830).

A remastered, expanded version of From The Mars Hotel was included in the box set;

This remastered, expanded version was released as a single CD in 2006.

From The Mars Hotel was included in the box set;

All tracks from Mars Hotel were included on the digital release; Scarlet Begonias (taken from the Mobile Fidelty reissue) was included on; U. S. Blues (taken from the Mobile Fidelty reissue) was included on; U. S. Blues was included on;
Buy expanded CD from

Buy regular CD from

Original LPalbum cover

album cover

Audiophile versionalbum cover

Expanded versionalbum cover

album cover