tracks musicians credits/sources related releases

Birth Of The Dead: Volume One (The Studio Sessions)

Grateful Dead

Initial release : 2013

Friday Music

A gatefold sleeve, double LP, 180 gram vinyl release of the studio tracks from the Birth Of The Dead release that were originally included in the Golden Road box set.


The Autumn Sessions:

  • Early Morning Rain (Lightfoot)
  • I Know You Rider (Traditional)
  • Mindbender (Confusion's Prince) (Garcia/Lesh)
  • The Only Time Is Now (Garcia/Kreutzmann/Lesh/McKernan/Weir)
  • Caution (Do Not Stop On Tracks) (Garcia/Kreutzmann/Lesh/McKernan/Weir)
  • Can't Come Down (Garcia/Kreutzmann/Lesh/McKernan/Weir)

The Scorpio Sessions:
  • Stealin' (Instrumental) (Cannon)
  • Stealin' (With vocal) (Cannon)
  • Don't Ease Me In (Instrumental) (Traditional)
  • Don't Ease Me In (With vocal) (Traditional)
  • You Don't Have To Ask (Garcia/Kreutzmann/Lesh/McKernan/Weir)
  • Tastebud (Instrumental) (McKernan)
  • Tastebud (With vocal) (McKernan)
  • I Know You Rider (Traditional)
  • Cold Rain And Snow (Instrumental) (Traditional)
  • Cold Rain And Snow (With vocal) (Traditional)

The Hendricks Sessions:
  • Fire in the City (with Jon Hendricks) (Hendricks)

  • Jerry Garcia - guitar, vocals
  • Bob Weir - guitar, vocals
  • Ron (Pigpen) McKernan - organ, harmonica, percussion, vocals
  • Phil Lesh - bass, vocals
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums, percussion
On Fire In The City:
  • Jon Hendricks - vocals
Credits / track sources

Autumn Records sessions (tracks 1 to 6);

  • Producer - Tom Donahue, Bobby Mitchell
  • Engineer - Leo De Gar Kulka
  • Recorded on November 3, 1965 at Golden State Recorders, San Francisco
Scorpio Records sessions (tracks 7 to 16);
  • Producer, engineer - Gene Estribou
  • Recorded during June, 1966 at Buena Vista Studio, San Francisco
Fire In The City;
  • Producer, arranged - Jon Hendricks
  • Recorded during March, 1967 at Columbus Recorders, San Francisco
Related releases

Fire In The City was originally released on a single:

This music was originally released as part of the box set: The double CD of early recordings from the box set was then released as a stand-alone double CD set:
Buy from

album cover