tracks musicians credits/sources related releases

Birth Of The Dead

Grateful Dead

Initial release : 2003


Double CD set of studio and live recordings from 1965 and 1966, plus one song with Jon Hendricks from 1967. This double CD set was originally released as part of the 12 CD Golden Road box set.


Disc 1: The Studio Sessions

    The Autumn Sessions
  • Early Morning Rain (Lightfoot)
  • I Know You Rider (Traditional)
  • Mindbender (Confusion's Prince) (Garcia/Lesh)
  • The Only Time Is Now (Garcia/Kreutzmann/Lesh/McKernan/Weir)
  • Caution (Do Not Stop On Tracks) (Garcia/Kreutzmann/Lesh/McKernan/Weir)
  • Can't Come Down (Garcia/Kreutzmann/Lesh/McKernan/Weir)

    The Scorpio Sessions

  • Stealin' (Instrumental) (Cannon)
  • Stealin' (With vocal) (Cannon)
  • Don't Ease Me In (Instrumental) (Traditional)
  • Don't Ease Me In (With vocal) (Traditional)
  • You Don't Have To Ask (Garcia/Kreutzmann/Lesh/McKernan/Weir)
  • Tastebud (Instrumental) (McKernan)
  • Tastebud (With vocal) (McKernan)
  • I Know You Rider (Traditional)
  • Cold Rain And Snow (Instrumental) (Traditional)
  • Cold Rain And Snow (With vocal) (Traditional)

    The Hendricks Sessions

  • Fire in the City (with Jon Hendricks) (Hendricks)
Disc 2: Birth of the Dead: The Live Sides
  • Viola Lee Blues (Lewis)
  • Don't Ease Me In (Traditional)
  • Pain in My Heart (Neville)
  • Sitting on Top of the World (Jacobs/Carter)
  • It's All Over Now Baby Blue (Dylan)
  • I'm A King Bee (Moore)
  • Big Boss Man (Smith/Dixon)
  • Standing on the Corner (Garcia/Kreutzmann/Lesh/McKernan/Weir)
  • In the Pines (Traditional / McMichen / Bryant)
  • Nobody's Fault But Mine (Traditional)
  • Next Time You See Me (Forrest/Harvey)
  • One Kind Favor (Traditional / Taub / Hopkins)
  • He Was a Friend of Mine (Traditional)
  • Keep Rolling By (Traditional)

  • Jerry Garcia - guitar, vocals
  • Bob Weir - guitar, vocals
  • Ron (Pigpen) McKernan - organ, harmonica, percussion, vocals
  • Phil Lesh - bass, vocals
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums, percussion
On Fire In The City, plus;
  • Jon Hendricks - vocals
Credits / track sources

Disc 1 - Autumn Records sessions (tracks 1 to 6);

  • Producer - Tom Donahue, Bobby Mitchell
  • Engineer - Leo De Gar Kulka
  • Recorded on November 3, 1965 at Golden State Recorders, San Francisco
Disc 1 - Scorpio Records sessions (tracks 7 to 16);
  • Producer, engineer - Gene Estribou
  • Recorded during June, 1966 at Buena Vista Studio, San Francisco
Disc 1 - Fire In The City;
  • Producer, arranged - Jon Hendricks
  • Recorded during March, 1967 at Columbus Recorders, San Francisco
Disc 2 - live performances;
  • Engineers - Bear, Rock Scully
  • Live recording from July 1966
Related releases

Fire In The City was originally released on a single;

This double CD set was originally release as part of the box set; The contents of this double CD set were subsequently released on two single CDs;
Buy from

album cover