Sunshine Daydream

Grateful Dead

Occasional limited release at movie theaters, DVD release 2013

Sunshine Daydream is a music documentary filmed at the Grateful Dead show at the Old Renaissance Faire Grounds in Veneta, Oregon on August 27, 1972. The film features performance and crowd footage.

The show, which was a benefit for the Springfield Creamery, featured the Grateful Dead and the New Riders Of The Purple Sage.

The film was occasionally screened at film festivals but was not widely released until it was screened as the main feature of the 2013 Grateful Dead Meet-Up At The Movies event. It was then released on DVD and Blu-ray in September 2013.

The movie includes parts or all of:

  • Bird Song
  • China Cat Sunflower
  • Dark Star
  • El Paso
  • Greatest Story Ever Told
  • I Know You Rider
  • Jack Straw
  • Playing In The Band
  • Promised Land
  • Sing Me Back Home
The musicians playing at the August 27, 1972 show were:
  • Jerry Garcia
  • Bob Weir
  • Keith Godchaux
  • Phil Lesh
  • Bill Kreutzmann
  • Donna Godchaux
Credits for the film:
  • Director - John Norris
  • Producer - Sam Field
Sunshine Daydream was released on DVD/CD and Blu-ray/CD packages in 2013: The music from the show was also released on a limited edition 4 LP set;