tracks musicians credits related releases

Unreleased Quicksilver Messenger Service: Lost Gold and Silver

Quicksilver Messenger Service

Initial release : 1999

Collectors' Choice Music 109

Double CD of archive QMS music. One disc of previously unreleased live material from 1968. Second disc of unreleased demos and early versions of songs plus some previously released but hard to find studio material.


Disc 1 (Live)

  • Back Door Man
  • Codine
  • Gold and Silver
  • Smokestack Lighting
  • Light Your Windows
  • Dino's Song
  • The Fool
  • Who Do You Love?
  • Mona/Maiden of the Cancer Moon/Mona
Disc 2 (Studio)
  • I Don't Want to Spoil Your Party
  • Acapulco Gold and Silver
  • I Hear You Knockin' (It's Too Late)
  • Back Door Man
  • Your Time Will Come
  • Who Do You Love?
  • Walkin' Blues
  • Calvary
  • Codine
  • Babe I'm Gonna Leave You
  • Stand by Me
  • The Bears

  • John Cipollina - guitar, vocals
  • Gary Duncan - guitar, vocals
  • David Freiberg - bass, vocals
  • Greg Elmore - drums

  • A & R - Gordon Anderson, Bob Hyde, Richie Unterberger
  • Executive producer - Gordon Anderson
  • Photos - Paul Ryan/Michael Ochs Archives
  • Liner Notes - Richie Unterberger
Related releases

Disc 1 is previously unreleased live music from 1968.

Codine and Babe I'm Gonna Leave You on disc 2 were recorded for the MGM movie Revolution and were released on the soundtrack LP;

Babe I'm Gonna Leave You and Stand By Me on disc 2 had previously been issued as a single;
  • Babe I'm Gonna Leave You / Stand By Me, Quicksilver Messenger Service, Capitol 2320
The remainder of disc 2 comprises previously unreleased studio tracks.

Buy from

album cover

album cover

album cover