tracks musicians credits related releases

The Great American Eagle Tragedy

Earth Opera

Initial release : 1969

Elektra EKS-74038

The second Earth Opera LP. Peter Rowan and David Grisman were members of the group.

Buy from

album cover


Side A

  • Home To You (Peter Rowan)
  • Mad Lydia's Waltz (Peter Rowan)
  • Alfie Finney (Paul Dillon)
  • Sanctuary from the Law (Peter Rowan)
  • All Winter Long (Peter Rowan)
Side B
  • The American Eagle Tragedy (Peter Rowan)
  • Roast Beef Love (Peter Rowan)
  • It's Love (Peter Rowan)

  • Peter Rowan - acoustic guitar, electric guitar, tenor saxophone, vocals
  • David Grisman - mandolin, mandocello, piano, alto saxophone, vocals
  • Paul Dillon - drums, acoustic guitar, percussion, vocals
  • John Nagy - electric bass, cello, mandocello
Earth Opera was joined on this recording by;
  • Jack Bonus - tenor saxophone, alto saxophone, flute
  • Richard Grando - c-soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone, bass recorder
  • John Cale - viola
  • David Horowitz - piano, organ
  • Bill Keith - pedal steel guitar
  • Herb Bushler - double bass
  • Bob Zachary - triangle

  • Producer - Peter K. Siegel
  • Production supervisor - Jac Holzman
  • Engineer - Dave Sanders, Peter K. Siegel
  • Collage - David Grisman, Myron Collins
  • Photography - Myron Collins
  • Color illustration - Gene Szafran
  • Design - Robert L. Heimall
  • Art direction - William S. Harvey
  • Recorded at A & R Studios and Elektra Sound Recorders, New York
Related releases

The Earth Opera album was finally released on CD in 2001.

All tracks were included on the two on one CD release;

One song from this album had been included on a single prior to the LP release;
  • American Eagle Tragedy / When You Were Full Of Wonder, Earth Opera, February 1969, Elektra 45636
A second single was released in conjunction with this LP;
  • Home To You / Alfie Finney, Earth Opera, May 1969, Elektra 45650
Home To You was included on the 2 LP promotional compilation; Home To You was included on the 3 LP compilation; Home To You was included on the 4 LP compilation; The American Eagle Tragedy was included on the double CD compilation; Mad Lydia's Waltz was included on the box set release;