The Essential Earl Scruggs

Earl Scruggs

Initial release : 2004


Vassar Clements plays on one or more tracks of this compilation album.


  • Heavy Traffic Ahead (Monroe)
  • It's Mighty Dark to Travel (Monroe)
  • Molly and Tenbrooks (The Race Horse Song) (Monroe)
  • Down the Road (Flatt / Scruggs)
  • Foggy Mountain Breakdown (Scruggs)
  • Roll in My Sweet Baby's Arms (Monroe)
  • Old Salty Dog Blues (Morris / Morris)
  • Pike County Breakdown (Jones)
  • Come Back Darling (Flatt)
  • Don't Get Above Your Raising (Flatt / Scruggs)
  • Jimmie Brown, The Newsboy (Carter)
  • Earl's Breakdown (Scruggs)
  • Get in Line Brother (Flatt)
  • Dear Old Dixie (Flatt / Scruggs)
  • Flint Hill Special (Scruggs)
  • Foggy Mountain Chimes (Scruggs)
  • Till the End of the World Rolls Round (Thomas)
  • Foggy Mountain Special (Certain / Stacey)
  • Randy Lynn Rag (Scruggs)
  • Shuckin' the Corn (Certain / Graves / Stacey)
  • John Henry (Traditional)
  • Cumberland Gap (Traditional)
  • Cripple Creek (Traditional)
  • Reuben (Traditional)
  • Sally Goodwin (Traditional)
  • Foggy Mountain Top (Carter)
  • Georgia Buck (Flatt / Scruggs)
  • John Hardy Was a Desperate Little Man (Carter)
  • The Ballad of Jed Clampett (Henning)
  • Nashville Skyline Rag (Dylan)
  • Nashville Blues (Scruggs)
  • I Saw the Light (Williams)
  • Some of Shelley's Blues (Nesmith)
  • Peking Fling (Clements)
  • I Shall Be Released (Dylan)
  • Stash It (Scruggs)
  • Song of the South (McDill)
  • I Still Miss Someone (Cash / Cash)
  • We'll Meet Again Sweetheart (Flatt / Scruggs)
  • American-Made World-Played (Scruggs)
Buy from

album cover