tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Earth Opera

Earth Opera

Initial release : September 1968

Elektra EKS-74016

The first Earth Opera LP. Peter Rowan and David Grisman were members of the group.

Buy from

album cover


Side A

  • The Red Sox Are Winning (Rowan)
  • As It Is Before (Rowan)
  • Dreamless (Rowan)
  • To Care At All (Rowan)
  • Home Of The Brave (Rowan)
Side B
  • The Child Bride (Rowan)
  • Close Your Eyes And Shut The Door (Rowan)
  • Time And Again (Rowan / Grisman)
  • When You Were Full Of Wonder (Rowan)
  • Death By Fire (Rowan)

  • Peter Rowan - guitar, vocals
  • David Grisman - mandolin, mandocello, vocals
  • John Nagy - bass
  • Bill Stevenson - piano, organ, vibes, harpsichord
  • Billy Mundi - drums, percussion
  • Warren Smith - drums, percussion
  • Paul Dillon - drums, vocals
The LP cover provides the musician information in the following way;
Peter Rowan - vocals and guitar, played his songs with David Grisman, mandocello and mandolin, and together they journeyed to the Boston Be-In, and discovered John Nagy, bass, who introduced them the Bill Stevenson, piano, organ, vibes and harpsichord, from the icy North. They all practised very hard and made this recording with the assistance of Billy Mundi and Warren Smith, drums and percussion. Then they met Paul Dillon, who has come to be known as drummer and friend, and that completed and began the Earth Opera.

  • Producer - Peter K. Siegel
  • Production supervisor - Jac Holzman
  • Recording engineer - Dave Sanders, Roy Cicala
  • Mixing - Peter K. Siegel
  • Cover construction - Abe Gurvin
  • Cover photography - Joel Brodsky
  • Cover concept and art direction - William S. Harvey
  • Artwork - Eve Babitz

This LP has a gatefold sleeve with song lyrics and artwork by Eve Babitz on the inside.

Related releases

The Earth Opera album was finally released on CD in 2001.

All tracks were included on the two on one CD release;

One single was released in conjunction with this LP;
  • Close Your Eyes And Shut The Door / Dreamless, Earth Opera, September 1969, Elektra 45035 (UK)
A second single was released that included one track from this LP and one from the 2nd Earth Opera LP;
  • American Eagle Tragedy / When You Were Full Of Wonder, Earth Opera, February 1969, Elektra 45636
It's possible that Time And Again was also released on a single, details will be added when available.

The Red Sox Are Winning was included on the 4 LP compilation;

The Red Sox Are Winning was included on the double CD compilation; Close Your Eyes And Shut The Door was included on the compilation; The Red Sox Are Winning was included on the box set release;