tracks musicians credits related releases

Cheap Thrills

Big Brother and The Holding Company

Initial release : September 1968

Columbia PC 9700

The second LP, the first on the Columbia label. Was a number one album on the Billboard charts. The CD release in 1999 included four bonus tracks.

Buy from

album cover


  • Combination of the Two (Andrew)
  • I Need a Man to Love (Joplin / Andrew)
  • Summertime (Heyward / Gershwin)
  • Piece of My Heart (Ragovoy / Berns)
  • Turtle Blues (Joplin)
  • Oh, Sweet Mary (Joplin)
  • Ball and Chain (Thornton)
CD bonus tracks;
  • Road Block (Albin/Joplin)
  • Flower in the Sun (Andrew)
  • Catch Me Daddy (Albin/Andrew/Getz/Gurley/Joplin)
  • Magic of Love (Spoelstra)

  • Peter Albin - bass
  • Sam Andrew - guitar
  • David Getz - drums
  • James Gurley - guitar
  • Janis Joplin - vocals

  • John Simon - piano (on Turtle Blues)

  • Producer - John Simon, Elliot Mazer
  • Engineer - Fred Catero, Jerry Hochman
  • Cover illustration - Robert Crumb
  • Ball and Chain was recorded live at the Fillmore Auditorium
Related releases


One single was released in conjunction with this LP;

  • Piece Of My Heart / Turtle Blues, Big Brother And The Holding Company, 1968, Columbia 44626
Janis Joplin / Big Brother compilations

Piece Of My Heart and Summertime were included on;

Piece of My Heart was included on; Cheap Thrills was included on a two-on-one double LP release; Piece of My Heart, Summertime, Turtle Blues and Oh, Sweet Mary were included on; Versions of Combination of the Two, I Need a Man to Love, Piece of My Heart, Turtle Blues, Oh, Sweet Mary, Catch Me Daddy and Summertime that were either the album take or alternate or edited versions, were included in the box set;
  • Janis, Janis Joplin, 1993
Piece Of My Heart and Summertime were included on; This album was included in a 3 in a box CD release; Piece of My Heart was included on; This album (including bonus tracks) was included in; Piece of My Heart, I Need a Man to Love and Turtle Blues were included on; Combination Of Two , Piece Of My Heart, Summertime, Turtle Blues and Ball And Chain have been included on numerous various artist compilations.

Two of the CD bonus tracks, Road Block and Flower in the Sun are outtakes from the LP recording sessions.

The other two Catch Me Daddy and Magic of Love are live recordings from March 1968.