Tipple, Loom & Rail: Songs of the Industrialization of the South

Mike Seeger

Initial release : 1966



  • Factory Girl
  • Coal Creek Troubles
  • Edward Lewis
  • Come All You Coal Miners
  • The Miner's Blues
  • Harlan County Blues
  • Cotton Mill Blues
  • The Reckless Motor Man
  • The New Market Wreck
  • Cotton Mill Colic
  • The Virginian Strike of '23
  • Roane County Strike at Harriman, Tennessee
  • The Hard Working Miner
  • Hard Times in These Mines
  • Spinning Room Blues
  • The Death of John Henry

  • Mike Seeger - guitar, banjo, fiddle, harmonica, vocals
  • Tracy Schwarz - autoharp, guitar, vocals (On Cotton Mill Blues, The Reckless Motorman, The Newmarket Wreck and The Death Of John Henry)
  • Marj Seeger - vocals (On Cotton Mill Blues)

  • Notes - Archie Green
  • Photo - Robert Frank
Buy from

album cover