Southern Banjo Sounds

Mike Seeger

Initial release : 1998

Smithsonian Folkways

A collection of pieces that demostrate different styles and techniques of banjo playing in the rural south in the first half of the 20th century. Played on 23 different banjo all of which are pictured in the CD booklet.


  • Soon in the Morning Babe (Traditional)
  • Josh Thomas's Roustabout (Traditional)
  • Jim Crack Corn (Traditional)
  • Darling Cora (Traditional)
  • Devil's Dream (Traditional)
  • Little Birdie (Traditional)
  • Around the World (Traditional)
  • Whoopin' Up Cattle (Traditional)
  • Flop Eared Mule (Traditional)
  • Lost Gander (Traditional)
  • The Sailor and the Soldier (Traditional)
  • American Spanish Fandango (Traditional)
  • Got No Silver Nor Gold Blues (Traditional)
  • We're Up Against It Now (Traditional)
  • That's What the Old Bachelor's Made Out Of (Traditional)
  • The Last of Callahan (Traditional)
  • Lady Gay (Traditional)
  • Down South Blues (Traditional)
  • Last Night When My Willie Come Home (Traditional)
  • Wabash Blues (Meinken, Ringle)
  • Bright Sunny South (Traditional)
  • Roll on John (Traditional)
  • Needlecase (Traditional)
  • Come My Little Pink (Traditional)
  • Battle in the Horseshoe (Traditional)
  • Head Over Heels in Love (Flatt)
Buy from

album cover