tracks musicians credits

Mandolin Magic

Evan Marshall

Initial release : 1990

Rounder 0273

This album of solo mandolin pieces was produced and engineered by David Grisman.

Buy from

album cover


  • Do You Want to Know a Secret? (Lennon/McCartney)
  • Summertime (Gershwin/Gershwin)
  • Hungarian Dance #6 (Brahms)
  • Mother Nature's Son (Lennon/McCartney)
  • Speak Softly Love (Theme From The Godfather) (Rotal)
  • The Alabama Jubilee (Cobb/Yellin)
  • Barcarolle (Offenbach)
  • Steeplechase Lane (Hubbard)
  • Londonderry Aire (Traditional)
  • Zorba the Greek (Stillman/Theodrakis)
  • Michelle (Lennon/McCartney)
  • Spanish Eyes (Kaempfert/Singleton/Snyder)
  • Two Guitars (Traditional arr. Dave Apollon)
  • Vincent (McLean)
  • Hungarian Dance #5 (Brahms)
  • Vieni Sul Mar (Traditional)
  • You Won't See Me (Lennon/McCartney)
  • Over the Rainbow (Arlen/Harburg)

  • Evan Marshall - mandolin

  • Producer, Engineer - David Grisman
  • Mastering - George Horn
  • Photography - Michael Shay
  • Set design, photography direction - Diane McGaulley
  • Design - Nancy Jean Anderson
  • Liner notes - John Knowles
  • Liner quote - Chet Atkins
  • Thanks to - Ken, Bill and Marian and all the folks at Rounder; Jennifer and Allen McKay and Michael Cornu at Mama Nina's in Yountville, CA; Louis Laulhere and Pascal Gode at La Vie En Rose in Brea, CA; David Grisman for his enthusiasm and hard work; Keith Harris for sharing his ideas about the art of the mandolin; and Kim, Mom, Dad, and John for their love and support
  • Recorded at Dawg Studios in Mill Valley, California

  • Evan Marshall plays a 1981 Gibson F-5L mandolin. All the arrangements except Two Guitars are by Eva, and are performed solo, "live." Evan's mandolin was recorded direct to a two-track analog master. No equalisation was used in either the recording or mastering process.