Greater Than the Sum of His Parts

Eddie Harris

Initial release : 1998

32 Jazz

A double CD release that brings together 4 LPs from the 1960's. Sonny Phillips plays organ on some of the tracks on the Mean Greens album.


  • Love Theme from "The Sandpiper" (The Shadow of Your Smile) (Mandel / Webster)
  • Born to Be Blue (Torme / Wells)
  • Love for Sale (Porter)
  • Cryin' Blues (Harris)
  • 'S Wonderful (Gershwin / Gershwin)
  • Freedom Jazz Dance (Harris)
  • Mean Greens (Harris)
  • It Was a Very Good Year (Drake)
  • Without You (Harris)
  • Yeah Yeah Yeah (Harris)
  • Listen Here (Harris)
  • Blues In The Basement (Harris)
  • Goin' Home (Harris)
  • When a Man Loves a Woman (Lewis / Wright)
  • My Funny Valentine (Hart / Rodgers)
  • The Tender Storm (Harris)
  • On a Clear Day (You Can See Forever) (Lane / Lerner)
  • A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square (Maschwitz / Sherwin)
  • If Ever I Would Leave You (Lerner / Loewe)
  • Free at Last (Harris)
  • 1974 Blues (Harris)
  • Smoke Signals (Harris)
  • Coltrane's View (Christian)
  • I'm Gonna Leave You by Yourself (Harris)
  • Silver Cycles (Harris / Jackson)
  • Little Bit (Harris)
  • Electric Ballad (Harris)
  • Infrapolations (Harris)
Related releases

The music on this CD was originally released on;

  • The In Sound, Eddie Harris, 1965
  • Mean Greens, Eddie Harris, 1966
  • The Tender Storm, Eddie Harris, 1966
  • Silver Cycles, Eddie Harris, 1968
Buy from

album cover