tracks musicians credits related releases

The Folkways Years: 1964-1983

Red Allen

Initial release : 2001

Smithsonian/Folkways 40127

This compilation includes all of the tracks of the 1964 Red Allen LP Bluegrass some of which were produced by David Grisman.


  • Little Maggie (Traditional)
  • Somebody Loves You Darling (Morris/Zeke)
  • New Camptown Races (Wakefield)
  • Are You Afraid to Die? (Charlie/Louvin)
  • Sweetheart, You Done Me Wrong (Monroe)
  • Are You Washed in the Blood? (Traditional)
  • Deep Elem Blues (Traditional)
  • Ground Hog (Traditional)
  • Catnip (Wakefield)
  • The Litte Girl and the Dreadful Snake (Price)
  • I'm Just Here to Get My Baby Out of Jail (Davis/Taylor)
  • Shake Hands With Mother Again (Berry)
  • All the Good Times Are Passed and Gone (Traditional)
  • When My Blue Moon Turns to Gold Again (Sullivan/Walker)
  • Can You Forgive (Hall)
  • Old Joe Clark (Traditional)
  • Knocking at Your Door (Smith)
  • Green Apples (Wakefield)
  • Hello City Limits (Elgin/Martin)
  • Victim to the Tomb (Duffey)
  • Are You Teasing Me? (Charlie/Louvin)
  • My Sweet Love Ain't Around (Williams)
  • Dig a Hole in the Meadow (Flatt/Scruggs)
  • I'm Waiting to Hear You Call Me Darling (Flatt/Johnson)
  • Stone Wall (Twitty)
  • Troubles Around My Door (Allen)
  • I Guess I'll Go on Dreaming (Bailes/Bailes/Clements)
  • Christian Life (Charlie/Louvin)

The musicians on the 1964 LP bluegrass were;

  • Red Allen - guitar
  • John McGee - fiddle
  • Frank Wakefield - mandolin
  • Bill Keith - banjo
  • Pete Kuykendall - banjo, guitar
  • Tom Morgan - bass
  • Fred Weisz - bass

Part of the 1964 LP bluegrass was produced by David Grisman.

For the compilation;

  • Producer, liner notes - Mark Yacovone
  • Mastering - Pete Reiniger
  • Photography - Ronald Clyne, Keith Russell
  • Production Coordination - Mary Monseur
Related releases

Little Maggie, Somebody Loves You Darlin, New Camptown Races, Are You Afraid To Die, Sweetheart You Done Me Wrong, Are You Washed In The Blood, Deep Elem Blues, Ground Hog, The Little Girl And The Dreadful Snake, Catnip, I'm Here To Get My Baby Out Of Jail and Shake Hands With Mother Again were originally released on;

  • bluegrass, Red Allen, Frank Wakefield and the Kentuckians, 1964, Folkways FA2408
Buy from

album cover