tracks / musicians

Folk Music U.S.A.: Vol. 1

Various Artists

Initial release : 1958


A double LP release.

Tracks / Musicians

  • John Henry - Virgil Perkins and Jack Sims
  • Grizzly Bear: Negro Prison Camp Worksong
  • Blowing the Train - Percy Randolph
  • Six Thousand Miles from Nowhere - Snooks Eaglin
  • Dark Was the Night - Blind Willie Johnson
  • Amasee: Children's Ring Game Song
  • Spooky Drums - Baby Dodds
  • Black Jack Davy - Mary Jo Davis
  • Drunken Sailor: Dulcimer Medley
  • Ellen Smith - Pete Steele
  • Run, Run - Elizabeth Cotten
  • Mole in the Ground - Bascom Lamar Lunsford
  • Rolling River: Country Dance - Murph Gribble, John Lusk, and Albert York
  • Allons Danser Colinda: Cajun Dance - Roy Brule
  • Sourwood Mountain: Square Dance Tune - Hobart Smith
  • Diamond Joe: Cowboy Song - Cisco Houston
  • Siete Leguas: Corrido - Peter Hurd
  • Matachines Dance
  • Moonlight Song: Taos Indian Serenade
  • War Dance Song
  • Esta Navidad: Puerto Rican Christmas Song
  • Aguinaldo Cagueño: Puerto Rican Song
  • Rocky Road: Shape-Note Singing - Alabama Sacred Harp Singers
  • If We Never Meet Again
  • Inviting-In Dance Song

  • Original recordings - Samuel B. Charters, John Lomax, Harry Oster, Harold Courlander, Moses Asch, Mary Celestia Parker, Ed Kahn, Mike Seeger, Ralf Auf Der Heide, L. Bonstein, Alan Lomax, J.D. Robb, Willard Rhodes, William S. Marlens, Edward J. Keinzer, Laura Boulton
  • Notes - Charles Edward Smith
  • Compiler - Harold Courlander
  • Cover design - Ronald Clyne
Buy from

album cover