tracks / musicians related releases

Classic Southern Gospel from Smithsonian Folkways

Various Artists

Initial release : 2005


David Grisman plays on one track of this compilation with Hazel Dickens and Alice Gerrard. Some of the tracks were recorded by Mike Seeger.

Tracks / musicians

  • I'm Working on a Building - Bill Monroe and his Bluegrass Boys
  • No Disappointment in Heaven - Dock Boggs
  • Wondrous Love - Old Harp Singers of Eastern Tennessee
  • Are You Washed in the Blood? - Red Allen
  • What Are They Doing in Heaven Today? - Harry & Jeanie West
  • The Lost Soul - Watson Family
  • Hallelujah Side - Ernest Stoneman
  • Walking in Jerusalem (Just Like John) - Country Gentlemen
  • Sinner, You'd Better Get Ready - Lilly Brothers
  • When He Reached Down His Hand for Me - Bill Monroe and his Bluegrass Boys
  • Away Over in the Promised Land - Phipps Family
  • No Tears in Heaven - Kilby Snow
  • Old Country Church - Tom Morgan
  • Glory to the Lamb - DeBusk-Weaver Family
  • Amazing Grace - Clarence Ashley, Clint Howard and Fred Price
  • River of Jordan - Poplin Family
  • Shake Hands With Mother Again - Allen Brothers
  • Gabriel's Call - Hazel Dickens & Alice Gerrard
  • What Would You Give in Exchange for Your Soul? - Bill Monroe and Doc Watson
  • He Said, If You Love Me, Feed My Sheep - Stancer Quartet
  • I Am a Pilgrim - Country Gentlemen
  • I'm Going to a City - Indian Bottom Association Members
David Grisman plays on Gabriel's Call on which the musicians are possibly;
  • Hazel Dickens - bass, vocals
  • Alice Gerrard - guitar, vocals
  • David Grisman - mandolin
  • Chubby Wise - fiddle
  • Lamar Grier - banjo
  • Billy Baker - fiddle
Related releases

Gabriel's Call was originally released on;

Buy from

album cover