The Book Of The Dawg: Dawg Roots

An Audio Companion Piece

David Grisman

Initial release : 2021

Acoustic Disc

This recording is a companion piece to the book Dawg Roots, the first volume in David Grisman's Book Of The Dawg series. The purpose of the music is to assist the student in learning the 20 pieces that are in the book. For each piece there are four audio tracks: a "listen" track and three "practice" tracks at three different tempos.


  • Shalom Aleichem
  • Mandolin King Rag
  • Stoney Point
  • The Handsome Cabin Boy
  • Katy Hill
  • I Am A Pilgrim
  • Eight of January
  • Simple Gifts
  • Durham's Bull
  • Wildwood Flower
  • Blackberry Blossom
  • Barbara Allen
  • Boston Boy
  • Shady Grove
  • Soldier's Joy
  • Omie Wise
  • Paddy on the Turnpike
  • Two Soldiers
  • East Tennessee Blues
  • Wayfaring Stranger

  • David Grisman - mandolin

  • Produced by David Grisman
  • Cover design, layout - Dave "FM" Moretti
Related releases

This audio companion is designed to be used with the book:

Buy from Acoustic Disc

album cover

album cover