tracks musicians

Midnight Special

Harry Belafonte

Initial release : 1962

RCA Victor SP-2499

Bob Dylan plays harmonica on one track of this album. This was his first released appearance.

album cover

  • Midnight Special (Traditional)
  • Crawdad Song (Traditional)
  • Memphis Tennessee (Belafonte)
  • Gotta Travel On (Traditional)
  • Did You Hear About Jerry (Traditional)
  • On Top of Old Smokey (Traditional)
  • Muleskinner (Traditional)
  • Makes a Long Time Man Feel Bad (Traditional)
  • Michael, Row the Boat Ashore (Traditional)

Musicians include;

  • Harry Belafonte - vocals
  • Bob Dylan - harmonica (on Midnight Special)
Related releases

An alternate take of Midnight Special was included on the Dylan tribute release;

  • May Your Song Always Be Sung Again: The Songs Of Bob Dylan Vol. 2, Various Artists, 2001
The original version of Midnight Special has been included on numerous compilations.