tracks musicians related releases

The Basement Tapes

Bob Dylan & The Band

Initial release : June 1975

Columbia 33682

Double LP release comprising mainly the 'home' recordings made by Dylan and members of The Band in 1967.

Buy from

album cover


LP 1;

  • Odds and Ends (Dylan)
  • Orange Juice Blues (Blues for Breakfast) (Manuel)
  • Million Dollar Bash (Dylan)
  • Yazoo Street Scandal (Robertson)
  • Goin' to Acapulco (Dylan)
  • Katie's Been Gone (Manuel/Robertson)
  • Lo and Behold (Dylan)
  • Bessie Smith (Danko/Robertson)
  • Clothesline Saga (Dylan)
  • Apple Suckling Tree (Dylan)
  • Please, Mr. Henry (Dylan)
  • Tears of Rage (Dylan/Manuel)
LP 2;
  • Too Much of Nothing (Dylan)
  • Yea Heavy and a Bottle of Bread (Dylan)
  • Ain't No More Cane (Traditional)
  • Crash on the Levee (Down in the Flood) (Dylan)
  • Ruben Remus (Manuel/Robertson)
  • Tiny Montgomery (Dylan)
  • You Ain't Going Nowhere (Dylan)
  • Don't Ya Tell Henry (Dylan)
  • Nothing Was Delivered (Dylan)
  • Open the Door, Homer (Dylan)
  • Long Distance Operator (Dylan)
  • This Wheel's on Fire (Danko/Dylan)

  • Bob Dylan - acoustic guitar, piano, vocals
  • Robbie Robertson - electric guitar, acoustic guitar, drums, vocals
  • Richard Manuel - piano, drums, harmonica, vocals
  • Rick Danko - bass, mandolin, vocals
  • Garth Hudson - organ, clavinette, piano, accordion, tenor saxophone
  • Levon Helm - mandolin, bass, drums, vocals

  • Producer - Bob Dylan, The Band
  • Recording engineer - Garth Hudson
  • Mixing - Nat Jeffrey, Ed Anderson, Marco Aglietti, Rob Fraboni
  • Mastering Engineer -- George Horn
  • Photography - Reid Miles
  • Design consultant -- Bob Cato
  • Compiled by - Robbie Robertson
  • Recorded in the basement of Big Pink, West Saugerties, NY., 1967
  • Mixed at Village Recorders & Shangri-La Studios
Related releases

Tears Of Rage and This Wheels On Fire were included on;

Million Dollar Bash was included on;