tracks / musicians credits

The Ballad of Ramblin' Jack

Ramblin' Jack Elliott

Initial release : 2000

Vanguard 79575

Bob Dylan plays on one track of this soundtrack to the 2000 documentary film about Ramblin' Jack Elliott.

Buy from

album cover

Tracks / Performers

Track performed by Ramblin' Jack Elliott unless stated otherwise;

  • Introduction - Johnny Cash
  • Mule Skinner Blues (Rodgers/Vaughn)
  • Cuckoo (Traditional)
  • Hard Travelin' (Guthrie/Traditional)
  • Railroad Bill (Traditional) - Ramblin' Jack Elliott with Woody Guthrie
  • Buskin'
  • Pastures of Plenty (Guthrie)
  • Rake and Ramblin' Boy (Adams)
  • San Francisco Bay Blues (Fuller)
  • Candy Man/Talkin' Sailor Blues (Davis)
  • Acne (Von Schmidt) - Ramblin' Jack Elliott with Bob Dylan
  • Don't Think Twice, It's All Right (Dylan)
  • Take Me Home (Traditional) - Ramblin' Jack Elliott with Johnny Cash
  • If I Were a Carpenter (Hardin)
  • Car Song (Guthrie)
  • 900 Miles
  • Cup of Coffee (Elliott)
  • Introduction - President Clinton
  • 1913 Massacre (Guthrie/Traditional)
  • Cuckoo (Reprise)
Acne was originally recorded for a radio show in 1961. This was the first release of the song.


  • Producer - Dick Dahl