tracks/musicians related releases

American Roots: The Essential Album

Various Artists

Initial release : 2002

Manteca 210

This collection includes one track by David Grisman and one by Bob Dylan.

Tracks / performers

  • Man of Constant Sorrow - Ralph Stanley & The Clinch Mountain Boys
  • The Big Rock Candy Mountain - Harry McClintock
  • You Are My Sunshine - Gene Autry
  • Get in Line Brother - Flatt & Scruggs and the Foggy Mountain Boys
  • Keep on the Sunny Side - Carter Family
  • This Land Is Your Land - Woody Guthrie
  • In the Jailhouse Now - Jimmie Rodgers
  • Hard Time Killin' Floor Blues - Skip James
  • Hooray, Hooray, This Woman Is Killing Me - Sonny Terry and Brownie McGhee
  • Blue Moon of Kentucky - Bill Monroe & His Bluegrass Boys
  • Take Me Back to Happy Valley - Bailey Brothers
  • Here Am I, Oh Lord, Send Me - Mississippi John Hurt
  • Freight Train Boogie - Delmore Brothers
  • Take Me to the Mountains - Del McCoury and the Dixie Pals
  • My Better Years - Johnson Mountain Boys
  • Leaving Cottondale - Alison Brown
  • I Walk the Line - Johnny Cash
  • Duelling Banjos - Eric Weissberg and Steve Mandell
  • Girl from the North Country - Bob Dylan
  • Fishin' Blues - Taj Mahal
  • If I Could Only Win Your Love - Louvin Brothers
  • Deeper Well - Emmylou Harris
  • Fool's Gold - Poco
  • Penny to My Name - Eve Cassidy
  • Tomorrow I'll Be Gone - Johnson Mountain Boys
  • Banks of the Pontchartrain - Nanci Griffith
  • Trouble I Had All My Days - Mississippi John Hurt
  • I Ain't Broke But I'm Badly Bent - David Grisman
  • West Virginia My Home - Hazel Dickens
  • Weeping Willow - Country Gentlemen
  • You'll Get No More Out of Me - Lynn Morris Band
  • Foggy Mountain Breakdown - Lester Flatt and Earl Scruggs
  • I Fought the Law - Hank Williams Jr.
  • Orange Blossom Special - Charlie Daniels Band
Related releases

I Ain't Broke (But I'm Badly Bent) is taken from;

Girl From The North Country has been released on two Dylan albums. Uncertain which version is included on this compilation;
Buy from

album cover