tracks musicians credits related releases

Workingman's Dead: 50th Anniversary Picture LP

Grateful Dead

Initial release : 2020


A limited edition picture disc LP celebrating the 50th anniversary of the original release of the Workingman's Dead LP. 10,000 copies were produced. A digital single version of Casey Jones from the February 21, 1971 Port Chester show was distributed with the LP when purchased from the Grateful Dead website.


  • Uncle John's Band
  • High Time
  • Dire Wolf
  • New Speedway Boogie
  • Cumberland Blues
  • Black Peter
  • Easy Wind
  • Casey Jones

  • Jerry Garcia - lead guitar, pedal steel guitar, vocals
  • Bob Weir - guitar, vocals
  • Phil Lesh - bass, vocals
  • Pigpen (Ron McKernan) - keyboards, vocals
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Mickey Hart - drums

  • David Nelson - acoustic guitar (on LP version of Cumberland Blues)

Original LP credits:

  • Producer - Bob Matthews and Betty Cantor in association with The Grateful Dead
  • Engineer - Alembic
  • Equipment crew - Ramrod, Rex Jackson, S. Heard
  • Big Nurse - Jon McIntire
  • Executive Nanny - Sam Cutler
  • Lady in Waiting - Cosmic Gail
  • Guardians of the Vault - David and Bonnie Parker
  • Cover photo, art amd design - Mouse Studios w/ Toon N Tree
  • Recorded at Pacific High Recording Studio, San Francisco
50th anniversary credits:
  • Mixing (from the 16-track analog master tapes) - Jeffrey Norman
  • Mastering - David Glasser
Related releases

Workingman's Dead was originally released in 1970:

A 3 CD version Workingman's Dead plus live music from February 1971 was also released to mark the 50th anniversary: A digital album of previously unreleased studio outtakes from the Workingman's Dead recordings sessions was also released to mark the 50th anniversary: See the page for the original LP for information about other related releasess.

Buy from

album cover

album cover

album cover