tracks musicians credits related releases

Throwing Stones / When Push Comes To Shove

Grateful Dead

Initial release : November 1987

Arista 9643

Single release on vinyl and CD of two remixed tracks from In The Dark. A promo version of this single was also distributed.


  • Throwing Stones (Weir / Barlow)
  • When Push Comes To Shove (Garcia / Hunter)

  • Jerry Garcia - guitar, vocals
  • Mickey Hart - drums
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Phil Lesh - bass
  • Brent Mydland - keyboards, vocals
  • Bob Weir - guitar, vocals

For the single;

  • Remixing - Steve Thompson, Michael Barbiero
For the original album recording;
  • Producer - Jerry Garcia, John Cutler
  • Engineered - John Cutler, Guy Charbonneau
  • Additional engineers - Dan Healy, Jeff Sterling, Jeffrey Norman, David Roberts, Joe Gastwirt, Justin Kreutzmann
  • Programming, spatial effects - Bob Bralove
  • Basics recorded at - Marin Veterans Auditorium, San Rafael by Le Mobile
  • Additional recording and mixing at - Club Front, San Rafael
Related releases

Both songs are remixed versions of tracks that were released on;

This single version of Throwing Stones, together with the album version, was included on a 12 inch promo single; A vinyl replica of this single with new artwork was released in 2021:
album cover

album cover

album cover

album cover