tracks musicians credits related releases

Side Trips, Volume One

Howard Wales and Jerry Garcia

Initial release : October 1998

Grateful Dead Records GDCD 4061

Archive live material featuring Garcia and Howard Wales. Recorded live in 1970 at the Monday night jams at the Matrix in San Francisco.


  • Free Flight (Howard Wales)
  • Space Funk (Howard Wales)
  • All For Life (Howard Wales)
  • Venutian Blues (Howard Wales)

  • Howard Wales - organ, fender rhodes
  • Jerry Garcia - guitar
  • John Kahn - bass
  • Bill Vitt - drums

  • Producers - Howard Wales, John Cutler
  • CD mastering - Jeffrey Norman
  • Design - Gecko Graphics
  • Photography - Ron Rakow, Mary Ann Mayer
  • Thanks to - Deborah Garcia, herbie Herbert, Steve Parish
  • CD notes - Howard Wales
Related releases

This is the first of what will hopefully be a series of Grateful Dead Records releases featuring members of the Grateful Dead away from the Dead.

Wales and Garcia released one LP in the early 1970s;

  • Hooteroll?, Howard Wales and Jerry Garcia, 1971, Douglas KZ 30859
Buy from

album cover