tracks musicians credits related releases


David Grisman, John Hartford and Mike Seeger

Initial release : September 1999

Acoustic Disc ACD 37

'Music shifted back in time.' A collection of popular songs from bluegrass, country and rock taken back a step and reinterpreted with an 'old-timey' feel. A remastered and expanded version of Retrograss was released in 2013.


  • My Walking Shoes (Martin)
  • Hound Dawg (Leiber/Stoller)
  • Maggie's Farm (Dylan)
  • Memphis (Berry)
  • Flint Hill Special (Scruggs)
  • Old Home Place (Jayne/Webb)
  • Uncle Pen (Monroe)
  • Airmail Special (McReynolds)
  • Rocky Top (Bryant/Bryant)
  • Room at the Stop of the Stairs (Hylton)
  • Sittin' on the Dock of the Bay (Cropper/Redding)
  • Jerusalem Ridge (Monroe)
  • Windy Mountain (Cline)
  • Maybellene (Berry)
  • Blue Ridge Cabin Home (Certain/Stacey)
  • Rocky Road Blues (Monroe)
  • When I'm Sixty-Four (Lennon/McCartney)
  • 2 hidden tracks

  • David Grisman - guitar, guitar-banjo, mandolin-banjo, banjo, mandolin, mandola, ukelele, bass, vocals
  • John Hartford - banjo, fiddle, guitar-banjo, guitar, autoharp, vocals,
  • Mike Seeger - banjo, guitar, guitar-banjo, fiddle, mandolin, jew's harp, autoharp, mouth harp, vocals
  • Sam Grisman - bass (on Memphis)

  • Producer - David Grisman, John Hartford, Mike Seeger
  • Executive Producer - Craig Miller
  • Recording and mixing engineer - David Dennison
  • Mastering - Paul Stubblebine
  • Photography, design, layout - D. Brent Hauseman
  • Cover background collage drawings - Dave Kiphuth
  • Additional photography - Andrew Day, Clarke Prouty, Sturbjon Bergelt
  • Liner notes - David Grisman, John Hartford, Mike Seeger
  • Special thanks to Rob Bleetstein, Mary Buffington, Larry Cumings, Jack Crymes, Pam Grisman, Marie Hartford, Sean Kane, Jim & Janna Kerwin, Artie & Harriet Rose, Alexia Seeger, Matthew Stafford, D'Addario Strings and Schoenberg Guitars
  • Recorded live and mixed direct to 2-track analog at Dawg Studios
Related releases

An expanded, remastered version of Retrograss was released in 2013:

Memphis and Hound Dawg are included on the Acoustic Disc sampler:
Buy from Acoustic Disc
Buy from

album cover