tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Ragged But Right

Jerry Garcia Acoustic Band

Initial release : 2010

Grateful Dead Records

Recorded live, at the Lunt-Fontanne Theatre in New York, Warfield Theatre in San Francisco and the Wiltern in Los Angeles, during their fall 1987 tour.


  • Ragged But Right (Traditional)
  • Short Life Of Trouble (Grayson)
  • I Ain't Never (Pierce / Tillis)
  • Trouble In Mind (Jones)
  • Drifting With The Tide (Traditional)
  • Band introductions
  • Deep Elem Blues (Traditional)
  • Rosa Lee McFall (Traditional / Monroe)
  • Two Soldiers (Traditional)
  • If I Lose (Traditional / Stanley)
  • Bright Morning Stars (Traditional)
  • Goodnight Irene (Traditional)
  • It's A Long Long Way (To The Top Of The World) (Wayne)
  • Drifting Too Far From The Shore (Moody)
  • Turtle Dove (Traditional)

  • Jerry Garcia - guitar, vocals
  • David Nelson - guitar, vocals
  • Sandy Rothman - mandolin, dobro, vocals
  • John Kahn - acoustic bass
  • Kenny Kosek - fiddle
  • David Kemper - snare drum

  • Producer - Sandy Rothman
  • Live stereo recording - John Cutler
  • tracks 1 to 12 recorded live at the Lunt-Fontanne Theatre, NYC, the last 3 tracksa were recorded live at the Wiltern Theatre, Los Angeles, and the Warfield Theatre, San Francisco. Exact recording dates will be added when known

David Nelson spoke about the inception of the Jerry Garcia Acoustic Band in an interview. It followed Garcia, Nelson and Sandy Rothman spending some time together socialising and playing old songs;

We really had fun playing that old material, so we played a benefit for Bill Graham's poster artist. Bill got real excited about it and came into the back room. He said, 'I gotta take this somewhere,' and Jerry said, 'Take us to Broadway, Bill!' The next thing we know, we had 18 shows at the Lunt-Fontanne.
Related releases

Live JGAB material had earlier been released on;

Buy from

album cover