tracks musicians credits notes

Pure Jerry: Keystone Berkeley, September 1, 1974

Jerry Garcia & Merl Saunders Band

Initial release : 2004

Jerry Made JGCD0004

3 CD archive release of music from the Jerry Garcia and Merl Saunders Band show at the Keystone on September 1, 1974.


Disc 1;

  • Neighbor, Neighbor (Valier)
  • Keepers (Saunders / Kahn)
  • Sitting In Limbo (Bright / Chambers)
  • Favela (Jobim)
  • Tough Mama (Dylan)
  • La La (Fierro)
Disc 2;
  • Someday Baby (Hopkins)
  • Think (McCracklin / Robey)
  • Roadrunner (Dozier / Holland / Dozier)
  • The Harder They Come (Cliff)
  • I Second That Emotion (Robinson / Cleveland)
  • Going, Going, Gone (Dylan)
Disc 3;
  • Soul Roach (Saunders / Shanklin)
  • Mystery Train (Parker / Philips)
  • Wondering Why (Carrier / Saunders)
  • People Make the World Go Round (Bell / Epstein)
  • Keystone Jam (Garcia & Saunders Band)
  • It's Too Late (Willis)
  • The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down (Robertson)

  • Jerry Garcia - guitar, vocals
  • Merl Saunders - organ, vocals
  • Martin Fierro - saxophone, flute, percussion
  • John Kahn - bass
  • Paul Humphrey - drums
  • Mystery artist - trumpet (on some tracks)

  • Executive producer - Christopher Sabec, Peter McQuaid
  • Recording - Betty Cantor-Jackson
  • Research and tape compilation - David Lemieux
  • Engineer - Tom Flye
  • Second engineer - Robert Gatley
  • Mastering - John Cuniberti
  • Album coordination - Jeff Adams
  • Special thanks to Martin Fierro
  • Recorded live at Keystone, Berkeley on September 1, 1974

The rear cover of this CD set contains the following message;

KEYSTONE BERKELEY presents remastered versions of certain Garcia Sanders Band two-track work tapes from the late summer of 1974. Not to be confused or compared with studio recordings, these CD compilations may present sonic characteristics as unique as the performances from which they were taken and are therefore perhaps best enjoyed with that in mind. Fear not - while the audio standards associated with this music may occasionally wander, out commitment to its production does not, and almost always rewards even the most finicky with a truly transcendent listening experience.
The CD package includes a Keystone Berkeley napkin.

Related releases

Keystone Jam was included on;

Buy from

album cover