tracks/musicians credits related releases

Mondo Beat: Masters of Percussion

Various Artists

Initial release : March 1998

Virgin 45788

World music compilation that includes a track from Mickey Hart's Planet Drum album and two tracks from albums on which Hart plays.

Tracks / Musicians

The musicians and tracks of this compilation are;

  • Ijeilu - James Asher
  • Ti Mon Bo - Tito Puente
  • Buckwheat's Revenge - Brent Lewis
  • Minus One - Greg Ellis
  • Dom-Um (A Good Friend) - Airto Moreira
  • Zahrafat Al Sa'Id - The Musicians Of The Nile
  • Orere - Babatunde Olatunji
  • Afro Blue - Mongo Santamaria
  • Udu Chant - Mickey Hart
  • Kerwah - Nathu Lal Solinkey
  • The Friendly Jungle - Ed Mann and Brian Hand
  • Enjoy - Emil Richards
The musicians on Udu Chant, which is taken from Mickey Hart's Planet Drum, are;
  • Sikiru Adepoju - cowbell
  • Mickey Hart - bass drum, snare drum, hoop drum, tambourine, triangle, beam, vocals
  • Zakir Hussain - udu drum, balafon, tabla
  • Airto Moreira - tamanco, bird calls, whistles, conch shell, claps, chimes, vocals

  • Executive Producer - Dan Harjung
  • Mastering - Trevor Sadler
  • Design - Connie Gage
For the original recording of Udu Chant;
  • Producer - Mickey Hart
  • Co-producer - Sikiru Adepoju, Zakir Hussain, Airto Moreira, Babatunde Olatunji, Flora Purim, T.H. Vanayakram
  • Recording, mix down engineers - Tom Flye, Jeff Sterling
  • Recorded and mixed at Studio X, Sonoma County, California
Related releases

Dom-Um (A Good Friend) is taken from;

Orere is taken from; Udu Chant was taken from;
Buy from

album cover