tracks musicians credits related releases

Lovin' in the Valley of the Moon

Norton Buffalo

Initial release : 1977

Capitol 11625

Mickey Hart plays on two tracks of this album. These two tracks were also produced and recorded by Hart at his studio.


  • Lovin' In The Valley Of The Moon (Buffalo/McFee/Shapiro)
  • One Kiss To Say Goodbye (Buffalo)
  • Ghetto Hotel (Buffalo)
  • Nobody Wants Me (Buffalo)
  • Puerto De Azul (Buffalo/McFee)
  • Hangin' Tree (Buffalo)
  • Another Day (Buffalo)
  • Rosalie (Buffalo)
  • Jig Is Up (Buffalo/McFee)
  • Eighteen Wheels (Buffalo)
  • Sea of Key (McFee)

Mickey Hart plays on two tracks with the following musicians.

Puerto De Azul;

  • Norton Buffalo - harmonica, percussion
  • John McFee - acoustic guitar, electric guitar, electric sitar, pedal steel guitar
  • Bob McFee - bass
  • Kirk Harwood - drums
  • Mickey Hart - percussion, waterphone
The Jig Is Up;
  • Norton Buffalo - harmonica
  • John McFee - guitar, electric guitar, violin, pedal steel guitar
  • Bob McFee - bass
  • Kirk Harwood - drums
  • Mickey Hart - percussion, jews harp
The musicians on the other tracks are as follows;
  • Norton Buffalo - harmonica, percussion, vocals
  • Byron Allred - keyboards, clavinet, piano
  • John Ciambotti - bass
  • Gary Creller - bass
  • Kirk Harwood - percussion, conga, drums, washboard
  • Lynette Hawkins - vocals
  • Tramaine Hawkins - vocals
  • Sean Hopper - bass
  • Fred Jones - pedal steel guitar
  • David Ladd - flute
  • John McFee - guitar, pedal steel guitar, violin
  • Phil Richardson - violin, electric violin
  • David Shapiro - guitar, mandolin,
  • Freddie Smith - vocals
  • John Tenney, Myra Bucky, Sharon O'Connor, David George, William Rusconi - additional strings

  • Producer - Norton Buffalo
  • Engineer - Norton Buffalo, Jim Gaines
  • Master mix and Remix engineer - Jim Gaines
  • Assistant engineer - Allen Sudduth
  • Producer, engineer (Puerto De Azul and The Jig Is Up) - Mickey Hart
  • Assistant engineer (Puerto De Azul and The Jig Is Up) - Brett Cohen
  • Executive producer - Steve Miller
  • String arrangements - Phil Richardson, Dave Shapiro, Norton Buffalo
  • Illustrations, graphics - Richard Kriegler
  • Photos - Maria and T.J.Neff, Sam Emerson
  • Special thanks to - C. Parker, Kristen, Greg McCarthy, John and Wally, Jerilyn, B.D. Shot, Jack L., Commander Cody and the LPA, Clover, J. Toomey, J. Tenney, Martyn Smith, Eddie Tickner, The Stampede and to Gregory Fischenback

  • Recorded at Funky Features, SF; The Barn, Novato; Sailor Music Studios, Novato
Related releases

This album was included in a two LP on one CD re-release;

Mickey Hart also played on the other original album on this two album reissue;
album cover

Buy as part of a two on one release from

album cover