tracks musicians credits notes related releases

The Kitchen Tapes

Red Allen And Frank Wakefield

Initial release : 1994

Acoustic Disc ACD 11

The first of the Acoustic Disc Archive Series. The music collected here was recorded by David Grisman and Peter Siegel in Frank Wakefiled's kitchen in April 1963. Classic traditional bluegrass.

Buy from Acoustic Disc
Buy from

album cover


  • I'm Just Here to Get My Baby out of Jail
  • Turkey in the Straw
  • Down in the Willow Garden
  • New Camptown Races
  • Summertime Is Past and Gone
  • Bluegrass Breakdown
  • Muskrat Song
  • Catnip
  • Crying Heart Blues
  • I Can't Forget Old What's Her Name
  • Are You Afraid to Die?
  • Billy in the Low Ground
  • Over the Hills to the Poorhouse
  • Blue Grass Stomp
  • I'm Blue, I'm Lonesome
  • Roanoke
  • Nine Pound Hammer
  • Well Enough Alone
  • Paddy on the Turnpike
  • 'Tis Sweet to Be Remembered
  • Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
  • Hey Mr Mando
  • Sweetheart You Done Me Wrong
  • Talk to Your Heart
  • Rawhide

  • Frank Wakefield - mandolin, vocals
  • Red Allen - guitar, vocals

  • Producer - David Grisman, Peter K. Siegel
  • Engineer - David Grisman, Peter K. Siegel
  • Production Coordination - Craig Miller
  • Liner notes - David Grisman, Tom Stern
  • Mastering - Paul Stubblebine
  • Artwork - D. Brent Hauseman
  • Photography - Keith Russell
  • Recorded on April 11, 1963 in a kitchen in Hyattsville, Maryland

Peter K. Siegel and David Grisman were allowed to tape this private session to use as a learning aid.

Related releases

I'm Just Here To Get My Baby Out Of Jail and Down In The Willow Garden were included on the Acoustic Disc sampler;

'Tis Sweet To Be Remembered was included on the Acoustic Disc sampler;