tracks musicians credits notes reissues related releases

History Of The Grateful Dead, Vol. 1 (Bear's Choice)

Grateful Dead

Initial release : July 1973

Warner Bros. BS-2721

The Dead's last album for Warner Brothers. A single LP of acoustic and electric material from the shows on February 13 and 14, 1970 at the Fillmore East


  • Katie Mae (Hopkins)
  • Dark Hollow (Browning)
  • I've Been All Around This World (Traditional, arr. Grateful Dead)
  • Wake Up Little Susie (Bryant/Bryant)
  • Black Peter (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Smokestack Lightnin' (Burnett)
  • Hard To Handle (Redding/Isabell/Jones)
Bonus tracks on 2003 expanded CD release, all live recordings from Feb 1970;
  • Good Lovin' (Resnick / Clark)
  • Big Boss Man (Smith / Dixon)
  • Smokestack Lightnin' (Burnett)
  • Sitting on Top of the World (Jacobs / Carter)

  • Jerry Garcia - acoustic guitar, lead guitar, vocals
  • Bob Weir - acoustic guitar, electric guitar, vocals
  • Ron "Pig Pen" McKernan- acoustic guitar, organ, percussion, harmonica, vocals
  • Phil Lesh - bass
  • Mickey Hart - drums
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums

  • Recorded Live by Bear: February 13-14, 1970 at the Fillmore East, New York, NY
  • Produced by: Owsley Stanley

The songs on Bear's Choice are taken from the following shows:

  • Katie Mae, Wake Up Little Susie, Black Peter and Smokestack Lightnin' - February 13, 1970
  • Dark Hollow, I've Been All Around This World and Hard To Handle - February 14, 1970

Issued on CD in 1988 by Warner Brothers 2721-2.

Expanded CD release in 2003.

Related releases

Black Peter was included on the Grateful Dead compilation:

An expanded CD release of this album with bonus tracks was included in the box set: The expanded CD release that formed part of the Golden Road box set was released as an individual item in February 2003. This CD release was remastered in HDCD and included extra tracks, an expanded booklet, rare photos, and new liner notes.

An expanded CD release of this album with bonus tracks was included in the box set:

A remastered LP version of this album was released, in black and colored vinyl editions, to mark the 50th anniversary of the original release of the album: For information about other releases that include music from this period see the 1970 section of the Dead by Date page.

Buy from

Buy expanded CD from

album cover

album cover