tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Here Come The Noisemakers

Bruce Hornsby

Initial release : October 2000


Bruce Hornsby's first live release comprising songs recorded between 1998 and NYE 1999/2000. A double CD set that includes covers of Black Muddy River and Lady With A Fan.

Buy from

album cover


Disc 1

  • Piano Intro (Hornsby)
    Great Divide (Hornsby)
  • Long Tall Cool One (Hornsby)
  • The Red Plains (Hornsby/Hornsby)
  • The Road Not Taken (Hornsby)
  • Lady With A Fan (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Stander On The Mountain (Hornsby)
  • Jacob's Ladder (Hornsby/Hornsby)
    Blackberry Blossom (Traditional)
  • Piano Intro (Hornsby)
    I Loves You Porgy (Gershwin/Gershwin/Heyward)
    Nocturne (Barber)
  • The Way It Is (Hornsby)
  • Twelve Tone Tune (Evans)
    King Of The Hill (Hornsby)
Disc 2
  • Spider Fingers (Hornsby)
    Tempus Fugit (Powell)
  • Sneaking Up On Boo Radley
  • Fortunate Son (Hornsby)
  • The Valley Road (Hornsby/Hornsby)
  • The End Of The Innocence (Hornsby/Henley)
  • Sunflower Cat (Hornsby/Mangini)
    It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry (Dylan)
  • Rainbow's Cadillac (Hornsby)
  • Mandolin Rain (Hornsby/Hornsby)
    Black Muddy River (Garcia/Hunter)

The Band

  • Bruce Hornsby - accordion, piano, vocals
  • John "J.T." Thomas - organ, keyboards, vocals
  • Bobby Read - bass clarinet, saxophone, vocals
  • J.V. Collier - bass
  • Doug Derryberry - guitar, mandolin, vocals
  • Michael Baker - drums, vocals
Additional players
  • John D'Earth - trumpet (Spider Fingers, Long Tall Cool One and Sneaking Up On Boo Radley)
  • Debbie Henry - vocals (Great Divide)
  • Steve Kimock - guitar (The End Of The Innocence)
  • Bonny Bonaparte - drums (The End Of The Innocence)
  • Land Richards - drums (Road Not Taken, Stander On The Mountain, The Valley Road, Sunflower Cat and Jacob's Ladder)

  • Producer - Wayne Pooley, Bruce Hornsby
  • Associate producer - Bobby Hornsby
  • Mixing - Wayne Pooley, Bruce Hornsby
  • Mastering - Ted Jensen
  • Production assistant - Melissa Reagan
  • A&R - Dave Bendeth
  • Road crew - George Slejko, Alan Miller, Gary Crosniak, Caldwell Gray, Gary Grimm
  • Liner notes - Bruce Hornsby
  • Cover photo - David Haliburton
  • Art direction, design - Henry Marquez/X-Out
  • All other photography - Carey Wilhelm
  • Management - Andy Martin for Deep South Entertainment
  • Recorded live between 1988 and New Year's Eve 1999/2000
  • Mixed at The Hair Pub For Men
  • Mastered at Sterling Sound
The CD booklet includes a long list of Special Thanks and Additional Special Thanks. The latter includes Jerry Garcia.

This album is dedicated to Robert Hornsby 1920-1998.


Songs recorded live taken from;

  • Austin City Limits PBS-TV Program (Great Divide)
  • BET Jazz Central (Spider Fingers, Sneaking Up On Boo Radley, Long Tall Cool One)
  • 1999 Woodstock Festival (Stander On The Mountain)
  • Concerts in Charlotte, NC; Kalamazoo, MI; Dayton, OH; Asheville, NC; Oakland, CA; Williamsburg, VA (NYE 1999/2000)
Related releases

Sunflower Cat > It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry was included on the promotional compilation;