tracks musicians credits related releases

Folk Time

Hart Valley Drifters

Initial release : 2016

ATO Records

A CD release of live in the studio session from late 1962. This is thought to be the earliest surviving Jerry Garcia studio session.


  • Band Introductions
  • The Roving Gambler
  • Ground Speed
  • Pig In A Pen
  • Standing In The Need Of Prayer
  • Flint Hill Special
  • Nine Pound Hammer
  • Handsome Molly
  • Sugar Baby
  • Clinch Mountain Backstep
  • Think Of What You've Done
  • Cripple Creek
  • All The Good Times Are Past And Gone
  • Billy Grimes, The Rover
  • Paddy On The Turnpike (Boys, My Money's All Gone)
  • Run Mountain
  • Sitting On Top Of The World

  • David Nelson - guitar, vocals
  • Jerry Garcia - banjo, vocals
  • Ken Frankel - banjo, fiddle, guitar
  • Norm Van Maastricht - dobro
  • Robert Hunter - bass, vocals

  • Produced for release by - Marc Allan
  • Associate producers - Kevin Monty, Brian Miksis
  • Original recordings producer, engineer - Ted Claire
  • Mastered - Fred Kevorkian
  • Curator - Marc Allan, Kevin Monty
  • Art design, illustration - Miles Tsang
  • Photos - Jerald Melrose
  • Liner note essay, archival research - Brian Miksis

  • Recorded (in mono) at KZSU Studio A, Stanford University, Palo Alto, CA in late 1962
Related releases

This music was subsequently released as part of the box set;

Buy from

album cover

album cover