tracks musicians credits

Films About Ghosts: The Best Of

Counting Crows

Initial release : 2003

Geffen 000167612

This compilation includes a previously unreleased cover of Friend Of The Devil.

Buy from

album cover


  • Angels of the Silences (Counting Crows/Duritz/Gillingham)
  • Round Here (Bryson/Duritz/Janusko/Jewitt/Roldan)
  • Rain King (Bryson/Duritz)
  • A Long December (Duritz)
  • Hanginaround (Bryson/Duritz/Mize/Vickey)
  • Mrs. Potter's Lullaby (Duritz)
  • Mr. Jones (Bryson/Duritz)
  • Recovering the Satellites (Duritz)
  • American Girls (Duritz)
  • Big Yellow Taxi (Mitchell)
  • Omaha (Duritz)
  • Friend of the Devil (Dawson/Garcia/Hunter)
  • Einstein on the Beach (For an Eggman) (Bryson/Duritz)
  • Anna Begins (Bryson/Duritz/Hawkins/Holly/Jones)
  • Holiday in Spain (Duritz)
  • She Don't Want Nobody Near (Duritz/O'Brien)
A limited edition release with a bonus DVD was also available when this CD was first released. The DVD contains videos of the following songs;
  • Mr. Jones (Bryson/Duritz) - directed by Charles Wittenmeier
  • Round Here (Bryson/Duritz/Janusko/Jewitt/Roldan) - directed by Mark Neale
  • Angels of the Silences (Counting Crows/Duritz/Gillingham) - directed by Josh Taft
  • Daylight Fading - directed by Howard Greenhalgh
  • A Long December (Duritz) - directed by Lawrence Carrol
  • Hanginaround (Bryson/Duritz/Mize/Vickey) - directed by Gregory Dark
  • Mrs. Potter's Lullaby (Duritz) - directed by Olivia D'Arbis
  • American Girls (Duritz) - directed by Marc Webb

Counting Crows are

  • Dan Vickrey - electric guitar, acoustic guitar, banjo, sitar, vocals
  • Ben Mize - drums, percussion, tambourine, bulbs, zippo lighter, loops, vocals
  • Matt Malley - electric bass guitar, guitar, double bass, vocals
  • David Immerglück - electric guitar, acoustic guitar, slide guitar, electric sitar, bass, mandolin, FM amount, vocals
  • Charlie Gillingham - piano, organ, accordian, chamberlain, mellotron, wurlitzer electric piano, harmonica, nord, acoustic guitar, tach piano, omnichord, fender rhodes electric piano, synthesizer, vocals
  • Adam Duritz - harmonica, piano, wurlitzer electric piano, tambourine, bells, string sampler, vocals
  • David Bryson - electric guitar, acoustic guitar, dobro, slide guitar, 12 string electric guitar, vocals
  • Steve Bowman - drums, vocals
  • Jim Bogios - drums, percussion, loops, vocals
Additional musicians;
  • Brendan O'Brien
  • Maria McKee
  • Gary Louris
  • Mark Olsen
  • Vanessa Carlton
  • Sheryl Crow

For the compilation;

  • Executive producer - Gary Gersh, Jordan Schur
  • mastering, compilation - Adam Ayan, Bob Ludwig
  • Art direction, design - J. Gnewikow at Herosion
  • Liner notes - Bill Flanagan
For the recording of Friend Of The Devil;
  • Producer - Bredan O'Brien
  • Recording - Karl Egsieker
  • Additional engineering - Billy bowers
  • Assistance - Mark Valentine
  • Mising - Brendan O'Brien
  • Recorded at Henson Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA in September 2003
  • Mixed at Southern Tracks Recording, Atlanta, GA