tracks musicians credits related releases

Fat City

Shawn Colvin

Initial release : 1992

Columbia CK-47122

Bruce Hornsby plays on one track of this album.


  • Polaroids (Colvin)
  • Tennessee (Colvin/Leventhal)
  • Tenderness on the Block (Browne/Zevon)
  • Round Of Blues (Colvin/Klein)
  • Monopoly (Colvin)
  • Orion In The Sky (Colvin/Klein)
  • Climb On (A Back That's Strong) (Colvin/Leventhal)
  • Set The Prairie On Fire (Brown/Colvin)
  • Object Of My Affection (Colvin/Leventhal)
  • Kill The Messenger (Colvin)
  • I Don't Know Why (Colvin)

Musicians include;

  • Shawn Colvin - acoustic guitar, electric guitar, thigh slaps, vocals
  • Alejandro Acuña - percussion
  • Robin Batteau - background vocals
  • Larry Campbell - pedal steel guitar, cittern, fiddle
  • Vinnie Colaiuta - drums, percussion, claps
  • Béla Fleck - banjo
  • Denny Fongheiser - drums
  • Milt Grayson - background vocals
  • Richard Hayward - brushes on guitar case
  • Bruce Hornsby – piano, background vocals (on Climb On (A Back That's Strong))
  • Booker T. Jones - organ
  • Jim Keltner - drums
  • Curtis King - background vocals
  • Larry Klein - bass, electric guitar, organ, piano, keyboards, claps, percussion, sustainiac, drum programming, vocals
  • Greg Leisz - pedal steel guitar
  • John Leventhal - electric guitar, thigh slaps
  • David Lindley - weisenborn hawaiian guitar, bazouki, lap steel guitar
  • Sammy Merendino - drum programming
  • Joni Mitchell - percussion, claps
  • Bill Payne - organ
  • Jeff Pevar - electric guitar
  • Steuart Smith - electric guitar
  • Richard Thompson - electric guitar
  • Fonzie Thornton - background vocals
  • Kenny White - keyboards, background vocals
  • Chris Whitley - national guitar
  • Vinnie Zummo - electric guitar The Subdudes
  • Tommy Malone - electric guitar, vocals
  • John Magnie - accordion, vocals
  • Johnny Ray Allen - bass
  • Steve Amedee - drums, tambourine, vocals

  • Producer - Larry Klein
  • Producer (Climb On (A Back That's Strong), Tennessee and Polaroids) - John Leventhal, Larry Klein
  • Producer (Monopoly) - Shawn Colvin, Larry Klein
  • Producer (I Don't Know Why) - David Kahne, Kenny White, Larry Klein
  • Executive Producer - Ronald K. Fierstein
  • Engineer - Dan Marnien
  • Additinal engineering - Roger Moutenot, Ted Spencer, Joe Barbaria, Geoff Keehn, Steve Addabbo, Michael Golub, Bob Dawson
  • Assistant Engineer - Julie Last, Axel Niehaus, Noah Baron, Yvonne Yedibalian, Bruck Dawit, Clif Norrell, Paula Garcia
  • Mixing - Dan Marnien
  • Mixing (Orien In The Sky and Tennessee) - Mike Shipley
  • Mixing (Round Of Blues and Climb On (A Back That's Strong)) - David Leonard
  • Mixing (I Don't Know Why) - Michael Brauer
  • Art Direction - Christopher Austopchuk
  • Design - Sara Rotman
  • Cover photo - E. J. Camp
Related releases

The Fat City album was subsequently included on a 2-on-1 release;

Climb On (A Back That's Strong) was included on the TV series soundtrack album; Climb On (A Back That's Strong) was included on the movie soundtrack album; Climb On (A Back That's Strong) was released as a promotional single;
  • Climb On (A Back That's Strong), Shawn Colvin, 1993, Columbia, CSK 74972 (promo)
Climb On (A Back That's Strong) was released as part of a promotional sampler for Fat City in the UK;
  • Polaroids / Round of Blues / I Don't Know Why / Climb On (A Back That's Strong), Shawn Colvin, 1993, Columbia XPCD 263 (UK promo)
Buy from

album cover