tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Dick's Picks, Volume Thirty One

Grateful Dead

Initial release : March 2004

Grateful Dead Records 4051

Four CD set of music taken from 3 Grateful Dead shows from 1974: Aug 4 and 5 in Philadelphia and Aug 6 in Jersey City.


Disc 1

  • Playing In The Band (Weir / Hart / Hunter)
  • Scarlet Begonias (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Jack Straw (Weir / Hunter)
  • Peggy-O (Traditional arr Grateful Dead)
  • Me & Bobby McGee (Kristofferson / Foster)
  • China Cat Sunflower (Garcia / Hunter)
  • I Know You Rider (Traditional arr Grateful Dead)
  • Around and Around (Berry)
Disc 2
  • Ship of Fools (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Loose Lucy (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Weather Report Suite
    Prelude (Weir)
    Part I (Weir / Andersen)
    Part II ( Let It Grow) (Weir / Barlow)
  • Jam (Grateful Dead)
  • Wharf Rat (Garcia / Hunter)
  • U.S. Blues (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Sugar Magnolia (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Casey Jones (Garcia / Hunter)
Disc 3
  • Mississippi Half-Step Uptown Toodeloo (Garcia / Hunter)
  • It Must Have Been The Roses (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Big River (Cash)
  • He's Gone (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Truckin' (Garcia,Lesh,Weir,Hunter)
  • Jam (Grateful Dead)
  • Other One Jam (Weir / Kreutzmann)
  • Space (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Stella Blue (Garcia / Hunter)
  • One More Saturday Night (Weir)
Disc 4
  • Eyes Of The World (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Playing In The Band (Weir / Hart / Hunter)
  • Scarlet Begonias (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Playing In The Band (Weir / Hart / Hunter)
  • Uncle John's Band (Garcia / Hunter)

  • Jerry Garcia - lead guitar, vocals
  • Donna Jean Godchaux - vocals
  • Keith Godchaux - piano
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Phil Lesh - electric bass, vocals
  • Bob Weir - rhythm guitar, vocals

  • Recording - Bill Candelario
  • CD mastering - Jeffrey Norman
  • Tape archivist - David Lemieux
  • Archival research - Eileen Law / Grateful Dead Archives
  • Photo - Robert W. Danielson, Jr / Grateful Dead Archives
  • Cover art, package design - Robert Minkin
  • Dead Heads newsletter artwork - W. Keats
  • Booklet essay (originally printed in The Aquarian, Aug 28-Sept 11, 1974) - Jay Saporita
  • Essay reprinted by kind permission of The Aquarian. Special thanks to Chris Farinas
  • Special thanks - Anne Minkin
  • Recorded live at the Philidelphia Civic Center on August 4 & 5, 1974 at the and the Roosevelt Stadium, Jersey City August 6, 1974

CD 1 is a selection of songs from Aug 4 and 5. CD 2 is the core of set 2 from Aug 4. CD 3 is the core of set 2 from Aug 5. CD 4 is selected songs from Aug 6.

The rear cover of Dick's Picks, Vol. 31 carries the following warning;

Caveat Emptor: Dick's Picks Vol 31 was mastered from the original 2 track analog source tapes, running at 7.5IPS, recorded during the last American tour using the famed Wall of Sound. Some sonic anomalies remain, particularly some over-exuberant piano-related sounds, but we have done as much as possible to bring the Wall Of Sound into your living room. Enjoy.
The rear cover of Dick's Picks, Vol. 1 carried a similar message and also a message briefly explaining the reason for the Dick's Picks series;
Dick's Picks differs from our From The Vault series in that we simply did not have access to complete shows (nor the modern mixing capabilities afforded by multitrack tapes) But we think the historical value and musical quality of these tapes more than compensates for any technical anomalies... In other words what you hear is what you get. And what you get ain't bad!
Related releases

Dick's Picks 31 was made available as a download from Grateful Dead Productions in November, 2005

Dick's Picks 31 was released for the regular retail market by Real Gone Music in 2012.

For information about other releases that include music from this period see the 1974 section of the Dead by Date page.

Dick's Picks is a series of archive releases. For a complete list of releases in the series see the Dick's Picks page.

Buy original release

Buy Real Gone Music release

album cover