tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Dick's Picks, Volume Twenty Three

Grateful Dead

Initial release : 2001

Grateful Dead Records 4043

Triple CD release of music from the September 17, 1972 show at the Baltimore Civic Center, Baltimore, MD


Disc 1

  • Promised Land (Berry)
  • Sugaree (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Black-Throated Wind (Weir/Barlow)
  • Friend Of The Devil (Garcia/Dawson/Hunter)
  • El Paso (Robbins)
  • Bird Song (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Big River (Cash)
  • Tennessee Jed (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Mexicali Blues (Weir/Barlow)
  • China Cat Sunflower (Garcia/Hunter)
  • I Know You Rider (Trad. Arr. By Grateful Dead)
Disc 2
  • Playing In The Band (Weir/Hart/Hunter)
  • Casey Jones (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Truckin' (Garcia/Lesh/Weir/Hunter)
  • Loser (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Jack Straw (Weir/Hunter)
  • Mississippi Half-Step Uptown Toodeloo (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Me and My Uncle (Phillips)
Disc 3
  • He's Gone (Garcia/Hunter)
  • The Other One (Weir/Kreutzmann)
  • Sing Me Back Home (Haggard)
  • Sugar Magnolia (Weir/Hunter)
  • Uncle John's Band (Garcia/Hunter)

  • Jerry Garcia - lead guitar, vocals
  • Donna Jean Godchaux - vocals
  • Keith Godchaux - piano
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Phil Lesh - bass, vocals
  • Bob Weir - rhythm guitar, vocals

  • Live Recording - Owsley Stanley
  • CD Mastering - Jeffrey Norman
  • Tape Archivists - Dick Latvala, David Lemieux
  • Archival Research - Eileen Law/Grateful Dead Archives
  • Cover art and design - Tina Carpenter
  • Cover photos - Tina Carpenter, Ed Degginger, David DeNoma
  • Band photos - Mary Ann Mayer
  • Layout design - Robert Minkin

  • Recorded live at the Baltimore Civic Center on September 17, 1972

The rear cover of Dick's Picks, Vol. 23 carries the message;

Dick's Picks Twenty Three was mastered from the original 1/4" analog tapes, running at 7.5 ips. The mix you hear was done live to two track at the show, and the results are remarkable. We hope you dig it as much as we do.
The rear cover of Dick's Picks, Vol. 1 carried a message briefly explaining the reason for the Dick's Picks series;
Dick's Picks differs from our From The Vault series in that we simply did not have access to complete shows (nor the modern mixing capabilities afforded by multitrack tapes) But we think the historical value and musical quality of these tapes more than compensates for any technical anomalies... In other words what you hear is what you get. And what you get ain't bad!
Related releases

Dick's Picks Vol. 23 was originally only available by mail order from Grateful Dead Merchandising and other selected outlets. It was released through regular retail distributors in September 2004.

Dick's Picks 23 was made available as a download from Grateful Dead Productions in November, 2005

Dick's Picks 23 was released for the regular retail market by Real Gone Music in 2013.

For information about other releases that include music from this period see the 1972 section of the Dead by Date page.

Dick's Picks is a series of archive releases. For a complete list of releases in the series see the Dick's Picks page.

Buy from

Buy Real Gone Music release

album cover

album cover

album cover

album cover