tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Dick's Picks, Volume Twenty One

Grateful Dead

Initial release : March 2001

Grateful Dead Records 4041

Triple CD release of the November 1, 1985 show at the Richmond Coliseum, Richmond, VA. An extra 35 minutes is included on disc 3 from the September 2, 1980 show at the Community War Memorial, Rochester, NY


Disc 1

  • Dancing In The Streets (Stevenson, Gaye, I. Hunter)
  • Cold Rain and Snow (Grateful Dead)
  • Little Red Rooster (Dixon)
  • Stagger Lee (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Me And My Uncle (Phillips)
  • Big River (Cash)
  • Brown-Eyed Woman (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Jack Straw (Weir/Hunter)
  • Don't Ease Me In (Traditional arr. Grateful Dead)
Disc 2
  • Samson and Delilah (Traditional arr. Bob Weir)
  • High Time (Garcia/Hunter)
  • He's Gone (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Spoonful (Dixon)
  • Comes A Time (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Lost Sailor (Weir/Barlow)
  • Drums (Hart/Kreutzmann)
Disc 3
  • Space (Garcia/Lesh/Weir)
  • Saint Of Circumstance (Weir/Barlow)
  • Gimme Some Lovin' (Davis/M&S Winwood)
  • She Belongs To Me (Dylan)
  • Gloria (Morrison/Smith)
  • Keep Your Day Job (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Community War Memorial - Rochester, NY 9/2/80
  • Space (Garcia/Lesh/Weir)
  • Iko Iko (Crawford/B&R Hawkins/Johnson)
  • Morning Dew (Dobson/Rose)
  • Sugar Magnolia (Weir/Hunter)

  • Jerry Garcia - guitar, vocals
  • Mickey Hart - drums, percussion
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums, percussion
  • Phil Lesh - bass, vocals
  • Brent Mydland - keyboards, vocals
  • Bob Weir - guitar, vocals

  • Live recording - Dan Healy
  • CD mastering - Jeffrey Norman
  • Tape archivists - Dick Latvala, David Lemieux
  • Archival research - Eileen Law/Grateful Dead Archives
  • Photography - Robert Minkin
  • Cover art, design - Tina Carpenter
  • Cover photos - David DeNoma
  • All of discs 1 and 2 and the first 6 songs on disc 3 were recorded on November 1, 1985 at the Richmond Coliseum, Richmond, VA
  • The last 4 tracks on disc 3 were recorded on September 2, 1980 at the Community War Memorial, Rochester, NY

The section from the Rochester show is the only part of the soundboard recording of the show that is in the Grateful Dead vault.

The rear cover of Dick's Picks, Vol. 21 carries the following warning;

DP 21 was mastered from the original digital tapes, our earliest foray into the digital domain to date. The master tapes are Beta PCM cassettes, with stereo digital audio recorded on the video track. We've aimed to make this release sound as good as possible, and we feel we've succeeded. Hopefully you will agree. Enjoy.
The rear cover of Dick's Picks, Vol. 1 carried a message briefly explaining the reason for the Dick's Picks series;
Dick's Picks differs from our From The Vault series in that we simply did not have access to complete shows (nor the modern mixing capabilities afforded by multitrack tapes) But we think the historical value and musical quality of these tapes more than compensates for any technical anomalies... In other words what you hear is what you get. And what you get ain't bad!
Related releases

Dick's Picks Vol. 21 was originally only available by mail order from Grateful Dead Merchandising and other selected outlets. It was released through regular retail distributors in September 2004.

Dick's Picks 21 was released for the regular retail market by Real Gone Music in 2013.

Dick's Picks 21 was made available as a download from Grateful Dead Productions in November, 2005

For information about other releases that include music from this period see the 1980 section of the Dead by Date page.

Dick's Picks is a series of archive releases. For a complete list of releases in the series see the Dick's Picks page.

Buy from

Buy Real Gone Music release

album cover

album cover

album cover

album cover