tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Dick's Picks, Volume Nineteen

Grateful Dead

Initial release : October 2000

Grateful Dead Records GDCD-4039

Three CD set of music from the October 19, 1973 show in Oklahoma City.


Disc 1

  • Promised Land (Berry)
  • Sugaree (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Mexicali Blues (Weir/Barlow)
  • Tennessee Jed (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Looks Like Rain (Weir/Barlow)
  • Don't Ease Me In (Traditional arr. Grateful Dead)
  • Jack Straw (Weir/Hunter)
  • They Love Each Other (Garcia/Hunter)
  • El Paso (Robbins)
  • Row Jimmy (Garcia/Hunter)
Disc 2
  • Playing In The Band (Weir/Hart/Hunter)
  • China Cat Sunflower (Garcia/Hunter)
  • I Know You Rider (Traditional arr. Grateful Dead)
  • Me and My Uncle (Phillips)
  • Mississippi Half-Step Uptown Toodeloo (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Big River (Cash)
Disc 3
  • Dark Star (Garcia/Kreutzmann/Lesh/McKernan/Weir/Hunter)
  • Mind Left Body Jam (Grateful Dead)
  • Morning Dew (Dobson/Rose)
  • Sugar Magnolia (Weir/Hunter)
  • Eyes of the World (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Stella Blue (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Johnny B. Goode (Berry)

  • Jerry Garcia - lead guitar, vocals
  • Donna Jean Godchaux - vocals
  • Keith Godchaux - piano
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Phil Lesh - bass, vocals
  • Bob Weir - rhythm guitar, vocals

  • Recording - Bill Candelario
  • Tape Archivists - Dick Latvala, David Lemieux
  • CD Mastering - Jeffrey Norman
  • Archival Research - Eileen Law/Grateful Dead Archives
  • Photography - Jack Seaman, Byron Nygreen
  • Cover Art and Design - Tina Carpenter
  • Cover Photography - David DeNoma

  • Recorded on October 19, 1973 at the Fairground Arena, Oklahoma City

The rear cover of Dick's Picks 19 carries the following

Caveat Emptor

Despite a rather skeevy ouverture, the sound quality of this release quickly settles into a nice, warm groove. Listen closely, however, for you may just find that your mind will be blown by the music contained herein,
The rear cover of Dick's Picks, Vol. 1 carried a message briefly explaining the reason for the Dick's Picks series;
Dick's Picks differs from our From The Vault series in that we simply did not have access to complete shows (nor the modern mixing capabilities afforded by multitrack tapes) But we think the historical value and musical quality of these tapes more than compensates for any technical anomalies... In other words what you hear is what you get. And what you get ain't bad!
Related releases

Dick's Picks Vol. 19 was originally only available by mail order from Grateful Dead Merchandising and other selected outlets. It was released through regular retail distributors in September 2004.

Dick's Picks 19 was made available as a download from Grateful Dead Productions in November, 2005

Dick's Picks 19 was released for the regular retail market by Real Gone Music in 2014.

For information about other releases that include music from this period see the 1973 section of the Dead by Date page.

Dick's Picks is a series of archive releases. For a complete list of releases in the series see the Dick's Picks page.

Buy from

Buy Real Gone Music release

Front cover
album cover

Rear cover
album cover

Booklet front cover
album cover

Booklet rear cover
album cover

CD 1
album cover

CD 2
album cover

CD 3
album cover