tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Dick's Picks, Volume Twelve

Grateful Dead

Initial release : October 1998

Grateful Dead Records GDCD-4032

Three CD set recorded live on June 26, 1974 at the Providence Civic Center, Providence, RI and June 28, 1974 at the Boston Garden, Boston, MA.


Disc 1

  • Jam (Grateful Dead)
  • China Cat Sunflower (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • Mud Love Buddy Jam (Mind Left Body jam in liner notes) (Grateful Dead)
  • I Know You Rider (Traditional arr. Grateful Dead)
  • Beer Barrel Polka (L. Brown / W. Timm / V. Zeman / J. Vejvoda)
  • Truckin' (Jerry Garcia / Bob Weir / Phil Lesh / Robert Hunter)
  • Other One Jam (Grateful Dead)
  • Spanish Jam (Grateful Dead)
  • Wharf Rat (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • Sugar Magnolia (Bob Weir / Robert Hunter)
Disc 2
  • Eyes Of The World (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • Seastones (Phil Lesh / ned Lagin)
  • Sugar Magnolia (Bob Weir / Robert Hunter)
  • Scarlet Begonias (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • Big River (Johnny Cash)
  • To Lay Me Down (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • Me And My Uncle (John Phillips)
  • Row Jimmy (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
Disc 3
  • Weather Report Suite
    - Prelude (Bob Weir)
    - Part 1 (Bob Weir / Andersen)
    - Part 2 - Let It Grow (Bob Weir / John Barlow)
  • Jam (Grateful Dead)
  • U.S. Blues (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • Promised Land (Chuck Berry)
  • Goin' Down The Road Feeling Bad (Traditional arr. Grateful Dead)
  • Sunshine Daydream (Bob Weir / Robert Hunter)
  • Ship Of Fools (Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)

  • Jerry Garcia - lead guitar, vocals
  • Donna Jean Godchaux - vocals
  • Keith Godchaux - keyboards
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Phil Lesh - bass, vocals
  • Bob Weir - rhythm guitar, vocals

  • Recorded by - Bill Candelario
  • Tape Archivist - Dick Latvala
  • CD mastering - Jeffrey Norman
  • Ferromagnetist - John Cutler
  • Design - Gecko Graphics
  • Photography - Jim Anderson, Mary Ann Mayer, Bruce Polonsky

  • Recorded Live: June 26, 1974 at the Providence Civic Center in Providence, RI and June 28, 1974 at the Boston Garden in Boston, MA

The rear cover of Dick's Picks 12 carries the following message.

Caveat Emptor:

This release was digitally mastered directly from the original half track 7.5 ips analog tape. It is a snapshot of history, not a modern professional recording, and may therefore exhibit some minor technical anomalies and the unavoidable effects of the ravages of time.
The rear cover of Dick's Picks, Vol. 1 carried a similar message and also a message briefly explaining the reason for the Dick's Picks series;
Dick's Picks differs from our From The Vault series in that we simply did not have access to complete shows (nor the modern mixing capabilities afforded by multitrack tapes) But we think the historical value and musical quality of these tapes more than compensates for any technical anomalies... In other words what you hear is what you get. And what you get ain't bad!
The songs are taken from the following shows.

June 26, 1974

  • Jam
  • China Cat Sunflower
  • Mind Left Body Jam
  • I Know You Rider
  • Beer Barrel Polka
  • Truckin'
  • Other One Jam
  • Spanish Jam
  • Wharf Rat
  • Sugar Magnolia
  • Eyes of the World
June 28, 1974
  • Seastones
  • Sugar Magnolia
  • Scarlet Begonias
  • Big River
  • To Lay Me Down
  • Me and My Uncle
  • Row Jimmy
  • Weather Report Suite
  • Jam
  • U.S. Blues
  • Promised Land
  • Goin' Down The Road Feeling Bad
  • Sunshine Daydream
  • Ship of Fools
Related releases

Dick's Picks 12 was made available as a download from Grateful Dead Productions in November, 2005

Dick's Picks 12 was released for the regular retail market by Real Gone Music in February 2015.

Jam > China Cat Sunflower > I Know You Rider from Dick's Picks 12 was included on the promotional sampler;

1973 and 1974 are considered by many to be a peak period for the Grateful Dead. For information about other releases that include music from this period see the 1973 and 1974 sections of the Dead by Date page.

Dick's Picks is a series of archive releases. For a complete list of releases in the series see the Dick's Picks page.

Buy from

Buy Real Gone Music release

album cover

album cover

album cover

album cover