tracks/musicians credits related releases

The Best Of Big Bang

Various Artists

Initial release : April 1997


Selection of tracks from the Big Bang box set of world percussion music. Includes a track from Mickey Hart's Planet Drum album.

Buy from

album cover

Tracks / Musicians

The tracks and performers on this compilation are;

  • Water Drums - Baka Forest People
  • Patron Mousso - Farafina
  • Udu Chant - Mickey Hart
  • Feliz Navidad - Patato
  • Wandenza - Amampondo
  • Sekatian Gilakan - Sekehe Gong Windu Karya Putpa
  • Karn Evil 9 (Drum Solo) - Emerson, Lake & Palmer
  • Rain - Glen Velez
  • A Quality Of Seven - Zakir Hussain
  • Village - Mino Cinelu/George Jinda
  • Hein-Sa - Reinhard Flatischler & Samulnori
  • Last Chance To Stomp (Excerpt) - Jack DeJohnette
  • Drum Solo On The Zerbaghali - Malang/Mohammad Akram Rohnawaz
  • Kassahwa - Stella Rambisai Chiweshe
The musicians on Udu Chant, which is taken from Mickey Hart's Planet Drum, are;
  • Sikiru Adepoju - cowbell
  • Mickey Hart - bass drum, snare drum, hoop drum, tambourine, triangle, beam, vocals
  • Zakir Hussain - udu drum, balafon, tabla
  • Airto Moreira - tamanco, bird calls, whistles, conch shell, claps, chimes, vocals

  • Producer - Vera Brandes, Mino Cinelu, Martin Cradick, Jorge Dalto, Jack DeJohnette, Mickey Hart, Zakir Hussain, Orrin Keepnews, Greg Lake, Patrick Lee-Thorp, Angel Romero, John A. Schaefer, Carlos Valdes, Paco Ye
  • Engineer - Christine Bronder, Michael Demark, George Wellington
  • Executive Producer - Jeffrey Charno
  • Liner Notes - John Dillberto
  • Technical Director - Edward Haber
  • Photography - Bill Scott, Loren Nerell, John Werner
Related releases

Udu Chant is taken from;

This compilation is a selection of the tracks from the earlier multi-disc compilation;